PDA

View Full Version : Formating cRIO


Waltonruler5
01-19-2012, 07:04 PM
Our programmer moved last year so nobody on our team understands how to set up everything very well. I'm trying to set up our computer and cRIO but I ran into a problem while trying to communicate. I could get the driver station to recognize the robot code and communication but to make sure I had everything done, I formatted the cRIO. Unfortunately, it only had the FRC_2010_v20.zip folder and now I can't communicate. I downloaded FRC_2011_v28.zip but it doesn't show up under the options for formatting the cRIO. Any help on how to update it would be appreciated.

Patrickwhite
01-19-2012, 07:18 PM
The .zip files of the images should be located in C:\Users\<User>\sunspotfrcsdk\cRIO_Images. Also, why are you trying to use v28? (The newest version is 43 IIRC). Is this code from last year or this year?

Waltonruler5
01-19-2012, 07:38 PM
Like I said, not many of us know how to go about this. When I tried to use Netbeans, it told me it was looking for that file. I actually found that I was using the wrong version of the imaging tool. I found the tool from 2011 and it let me use v28 but when I try to format it tells me that a specific file is missing.

C:\Documents and Settings\atrobotics\Local Settings\Temp\lvtemporaryd_178441\cRIOFRC
I checked and the file doesn't exist. I have no clue where to go from here.

Btw, we are not using a classmate computer, so if you could link me to the imaging tool for this year and the necessary files and plug-ins that'd be very much appreciated. Thank you very much.

rsisk
01-19-2012, 07:53 PM
Follow the directions here, it is a good place to start

http://www.usfirst.org/sites/default/files/uploadedFiles/Robotics_Programs/FRC/Game_and_Season__Info/2012_Assets/Getting%20Started%20with%20the%202012%20FRC%20Cont rol%20System_2.pdf

Patrickwhite
01-19-2012, 08:27 PM
The Imaging Tool is part of the Utilities update:

http://joule.ni.com/nidu/cds/view/p/id/2262

If your NetBeans plugins are out of date, they can be installed automatically with NetBeans' plugin interface:

Tools -> Plugins Dialog box -> Settings Tab

If there is an update centre that has the URL http://first.wpi.edu/FRC/java/netbeans/update/updates.xml then go on to the next step, otherwise add one:

Add -> Name: Anything, "FRC Java" is descriptive. URL: as above.

In the "Available Plugins" tab if the latest updates are not installed, then six plugins will appear:
FRCRobotTemplates
FRCRenameRefactoring
FRC Java Info
FRCSquawkSDK
FRCApplicationTemplate
FRCCommandTemplates

Click the checkboxes next to those and click "Install". Ignore warnings about unsigned plugins. Once they are installed you will have to restart NetBeans.

Mr. Lim
01-19-2012, 08:30 PM
Once they are installed you will have to reinstall NetBeans.

Restart NetBeans :D

Waltonruler5
01-19-2012, 09:27 PM
Thank you all very much. I should be able to fix it as soon as I get to school tomorrow.