PDA

View Full Version : Boosting signal on radios?


Dave Hurt
11-14-2001, 10:23 AM
I was going to try to hook the controller system up to my R/C plane, but the short range on the radios isn't really good enough to fly planes on. Does anyone know of a way to boost the range?

Dave Hurt
11-14-2001, 03:54 PM
Ok, I did some looking.... our radios use a RS-422 interface. I've found quite a few radios with a RS-232 interface... anyone know what the difference between these are? They both use a 9 pin serial cable for interface.

Nate Smith
11-14-2001, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by Dave Hurt
Ok, I did some looking.... our radios use a RS-422 interface. I've found quite a few radios with a RS-232 interface... anyone know what the difference between these are? They both use a 9 pin serial cable for interface.

Innovation FIRST went with a RS-422 over RS-232 because RS-422 is less prone to problems from "noise" caused by other electrical devices near the radio(more specifically, the cable from the RC to the Radio) So, you could NOT use the Innovation FIRST radios to directly hook to a 9 pin port on your PC. At the same time, even if it was a RS-232 connection, power for the radio, as well as the channel select signal, are sent via the 9-pin, so the pinout is not compatible with a PC RS-232 port.