PDA

View Full Version : Segway Modifications......


Clark Gilbert
12-05-2001, 08:56 PM
Just wondering if anyone would buy one for $3000 if it looked like this.......


http://www.wherearemypants.com/images/storyimages/segway-r.jpg



I think it would be cool..but i'de rather have my normal segway.

(Thnx "V" for the pic :) )

gniticxe
12-05-2001, 09:07 PM
I'm not sure if I missed the sarcasm, but I think that is quite fake. lol....how is that nos going to help the electric motors again? ;)

Clark Gilbert
12-05-2001, 09:17 PM
This was a JOKE....

But if you notice the list to the left it has a VTEC Engine sqeezed in there somewhere.....so the NOS would help...

:)

gniticxe
12-05-2001, 09:24 PM
lol...oh oops, I didn't catch that, I just saw that canister of nitrous oxide and got confused. I don't know clark...if that beast is the same price...well, maybe it is a little teeny bit gaudy....
Yeah, it would have to have some fog lights to make me get it...
lol ;)

Dan 550
12-05-2001, 09:48 PM
A nitrous system would actually help improve DC motor efficiency by cooling and lubricating it.

gniticxe
12-05-2001, 09:59 PM
Originally posted by Dan_550
A nitrous system would actually help improve DC motor efficiency by cooling and lubricating it.
Most people use fans/open air cooling (depending on the application) and regular lubricant...but if you want to use nos, and waste money, i guess you could...

Dan 550
12-05-2001, 11:01 PM
The key word ther was WOULD. An NOS cooling system would have a small efficiency gain, but cost and weight outweighs the gain, thus making it equi-efficient. But just having the NOS on there would add a cool factor.

Kit Gerhart
12-05-2001, 11:38 PM
My (6 year old) computer has a "turbo" button on it. I'd say that a turbocharged computer and an NOS enhanced electric motor fall in roughly the same catagory.

gniticxe
12-06-2001, 03:25 PM
Originally posted by Dan_550

.... But just having the NOS on there would add a cool factor.
No argument from me on that one ;)

And Mr. Gerhart, I remember my old comp that upped the MHz from 33(normal) to 66(turbo) lol, that 66 was fast ;)

Kit Gerhart
12-06-2001, 06:34 PM
My turbo must be running a little more boost that yours did. My goes from 16MHz in "normal" to 100MHz in "turbo" mode.

Tom Schindler
12-06-2001, 06:49 PM
Originally posted by Kit Gerhart
My turbo must be running a little more boost that yours did. My goes from 16MHz in "normal" to 100MHz in "turbo" mode.

Ha! Mine goes from a regular of 8 mhz, to a "turbo" of 25!!!! man that is smoking!

Kinda wierd to think that my TI-89 calculator is faster than that computer :)

Dan 550
12-06-2001, 09:59 PM
My turbo button LOWERS performance on my relic from 1993. It goes from 50 mhz down to 12 mhz 'Game Mode', in an attempt to make the older games work right in DOS 6.0. Ah, the good old days...