PDA

View Full Version : Muiltiprograms

rust710
12-13-2002, 09:21 PM
Last year was my first year as programmer and I was a freshman who just happened to have a computer so I got the job. I know that sounds like a bad idea but that is what happened.
Anyway what my question is, How do I download multi-programs to the controller? I know how to call other programs but how do I install them with out overwriting the first?

Greg Ross
12-13-2002, 10:37 PM
Use the {$STAMP} directive to tell the BASIC Stamp Editor the names of the program files that belong in the other slots.

Let's say you have a Prog0.bsx which does the initialization, Prog1.bsx contains the main program loop, and Prog2.bsx contains the serout command. Prog0.bsx will need to contain the following line:

{$STAMP BS2SX, Prog1.bsx, Prog2.bsx}

rust710
12-13-2002, 10:46 PM
Ok that makes sence but is/are there any limitations to the other programs and what variables are carried over between programs?

Greg Ross
12-13-2002, 11:07 PM
You need to remember that the 26 bytes of variable storage are shared between all program slots. This means that you either need to insure that all variables are defined identically in all your programs, or you will have to assume that none of your variables will be preserved whenever you execute the run command.

I go with the former strategy, and to help me accomplish this, I wrote a BASIC Stamp Preprocessor which allows me to include a file which contains all data definitions into all my source files.

The preprocessor is available in the Programming section of the White Papers.

The older versions of my white paper have gone missing, and the one that is currently there only mentions the features added in that version of the program. Hopefully, this weekend I will be able to upload an update of the preprocessor and some more complete documentation.

In the mean time, you will need to know that the syntax for including a file is:
{$INCLUDE file}

rust710
12-14-2002, 09:20 AM