PDA

View Full Version : Robot steering help needed!

BrendaB
01-01-2003, 10:45 AM
I am charged with coming up with code to help our robot steer smoothly during competitions. I am new to programming a robot yet I have visited parallax and innovation first websites for information.

Anyone have any examples of code that could help steer a robot? I am particularly interested in code that uses sensors. I am learning rather rapidly and should be able to pick up on most examples offered.

Also, are there any online tutorials that could team the programming language used for the Basic Stamp and FIRST? If so, please let me know!

Thanks much!
Bren

sanddrag
01-01-2003, 11:20 AM
What kind of steering? Skid, swerve, ackerman?

BrendaB
01-01-2003, 12:28 PM
Thanks for your response! I am interested in keeping the robot strait so I guess swerving control. I was thinking of code that would readjust itself automatically when sensing the robot varying from a strait vector. Any ideas?

Tom Schindler
01-01-2003, 01:00 PM
you could use the gyro chip to sense the angular acceleration of the robot.... mount the sensor so there will be a readout when the robot turns. Then write the code that checks the stick inputs, and corrects the motor outputs if for some reason hte robot is not doing what the operator intended it to do.

Be careful..... Say you are pushing against another robot, you do not want to modify the speed of a motor..... this could lead to situations where you can have a "Steering assist On/off" button on the UI....

Unless you are going incredibly fast, the driver *should* be able to correct for misdirections of the robot.

Good luck

Tom

Matt Reiland
01-01-2003, 07:31 PM