PDA

View Full Version : 10 sec Human Player Question?


BBFIRSTCHICK
01-04-2003, 01:44 PM
In the first 10 seconds when the human players go in and put the bins in the scoring area, is it ok if they were to put them in the gray area. Like leaning against their driverís stations and then later on move them into scoring position.??

E Jones 234
01-04-2003, 01:58 PM
can we do other things besides move our 4 bins around?? and can we put our 4 bins together with our alliance's 4 bins??

Gope
01-04-2003, 02:00 PM
You and your alliance's Human Players are allowed to stack your total of 8 bins in any combination you want.

Ryan Dognaux
01-04-2003, 03:57 PM
When stacking tubs as a human player, they must be stacked in your scoring zone, and you can't wander out of the scoring zone. Also, I suggest you take a look at page 8, rules GM 17 to GM 20.

GILLIGAN!!!!!!!
01-04-2003, 04:01 PM
Like Previously mentioned, you can combine boxes with team mates and i even believe you can only place then within your area, not on the grey, but thats not confirmed.

hmmm musta posted at the same time, my bad

Bduggan04
01-04-2003, 04:28 PM
It should be noted that the boxes have to be oriented "right side up" meaning the bottom faces down, top faces up.

SkitzoSmurf
01-04-2003, 06:50 PM
It's risky, but why dont the human players "gently" throw them into the gray area if they can not maneuver into the gray area themselves?

Justin Stiltner
01-04-2003, 07:20 PM
GM 19
"Human players can only place or stack containers. They cannot throw the containers."

<edit>
yaknow, woody said that if any part of the container was touching the scoreing zone that it counted as in the zone... so I suppose you could just have one corner touching the zone, tho I would ask FIRST on this one.. as it isnt a clear cut answer.</edit>

Mike537Strategy
01-04-2003, 10:05 PM
I also had a question about this. Through the question-asking period after the kickoff (We had a contact at the actual event and called them up) we learned that the container is considered in the score zone if the plane of the box is in the zone, because the boxes are wider at the top. Also, if this applies to a stack, the highest box with it's plane in the zone is the multiplier. So does this mean a team could put their initial boxes OUTSIDE the entire playing field as long as the top box is tilted in enough so that it's plane is inside the score zone?

Justin Stiltner
01-04-2003, 10:08 PM
I would say no, because that container is being supported by somthing that is outside of the field and therefore it is "dead"
anything that touches anything outside the barrier of the field is considered "dead" from play, including your robot.

Rob Colatutto
01-04-2003, 10:08 PM
i think your stretching it way too much....once the container goes out, i think its no points, and will always be no points

Winged Globe
01-04-2003, 10:33 PM
Originally posted by Mike537Strategy
... we learned that the container is considered in the score zone if the plane of the box is in the zone, because the boxes are wider at the top.

That's funny... at San Jose, we were told the base *must* be touching the scoring area, and that putting the stack outside (like in the gray) and leaning inwards won't count...

MissDaisyGirl
01-05-2003, 08:54 AM
so which is it? this is kind of important to know...

BBFIRSTCHICK
01-05-2003, 09:37 AM
The box most be in your color area in order to receive the points and must not be supported by anything.(as long as some part of the box is in your area you will receive the point) Also in the rules it dose say that the human players are not allowed to put the boxes in any other area other then their scoring zone.

Bduggan04
01-05-2003, 10:26 AM
Originally posted by Winged Globe
That's funny... at San Jose, we were told the base *must* be touching the scoring area, and that putting the stack outside (like in the gray) and leaning inwards won't count...

I agree. Reread SC8.

"A container will be determined to be "in" a scoring zine if at least some part of the container is touching the colored carpet that defines a scoring zone..."

I'd say that's pretty concrete.