PDA

View Full Version : Pyramids


cbudrecki
01-05-2003, 11:17 AM
If you end up having two adjacent stacks of containers, then one container sitting on top of both stacks, do both stacks get cancelled as your multiplyer, just one of them, or neither?

blue
01-05-2003, 07:35 PM
the matches are scored as such, the total number of bins in scoring area minus the height of tallest stack in shus times the hieght of the tallest stack. to clarify if you had to stacks of four next to each other with a bin strataling the two stacks it would be worked out like this:

total number of bins - 9
stack height in shu - 5
9-5=4*the stack height 5 makes your score 20

it is scored the same way as if you had a stack of five bins with four on the floor. i am under the impression that the scoring was set up the way it because of what you just mention, so height is detirmed by the shu not the number of bins in the stack.

MikeWherley
01-05-2003, 07:43 PM
Correct ...
I read the rules that same way!

Yan Wang
01-05-2003, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by blue
stack height in shu - 5


LOL!! Yeah... we have someone on our team named, Shu... boy that's gonna be a lot of bad jokes.

Tom Schindler
01-05-2003, 07:53 PM
I read the rules differently - i would think that all supporting objects of the tallest bin would be cancelled out... so in the example given with two stacks and a single bin on teh top, both stacks would be cancelled out.

Thats how i read it.

Tom

ColleenShaver
01-05-2003, 08:05 PM
I have to disagree with that intepretation of the rule..

For instance, if you stack four bins but flip the top bin such that it counts in the five zone, then your intepretation would involve subtracting an extra point for a bin that is not in the stack.

Example: You have a stack of four bins and four other bins in your scoring area. The top bin in the stack is flipped over such that it extends into the "5" zone.

The score, I believe would be:

5 (for the stack) x 4 (on the floor) = 20 points

Your interpretation yields:

8 (total bins) - 5 (stack height) = 3 x 5 (stack height) = 15 points

But to answer the initial question about the pyramid stacking.. we discussed this today. I think it was our general determination that it would count as one stack of 5 and none of the 9 bins would count for points, based on the way the rules read. I think it's an excellent question to pose for FIRST for their clarification because it is not really stated in the rules. Another interpretation would be that one stack of four would count, and the other 4 would be counted as 1-point bins and the top bin negated because it is supported by both.

Mark Garver
01-05-2003, 08:06 PM
I would disagree with you about not counting all supporting boxes because how would FIRST determine given the example that you gave, if one stack of boxes were pulled away would the box still stand? Since I dont believe FIRST to be doing this, I would say that only the one stack would be counted.

Suneet
01-05-2003, 08:13 PM
Originally posted by blue
total number of bins - 9
stack height in shu - 5
9-5=4*the stack height 5 makes your score 20

it is scored the same way as if you had a stack of five bins with four on the floor. i am under the impression that the scoring was set up the way it because of what you just mention, so height is detirmed by the shu not the number of bins in the stack.
That seems wrong. Height IS determined by SHUs, but the cancellation of points is NOT based on height (See rule SC8, below)

Originally posted by Tom Schindler
I read the rules differently - i would think that all supporting objects of the tallest bin would be cancelled out... so in the example given with two stacks and a single bin on teh top, both stacks would be cancelled out.

Thats how i read it.

Tom
Agreed. Rule SC8 clearly says that "All containers in the tallest stack located in the scoring zone (the "multiplier stack") are worth zero points..."

So there's no room for mis-reading. All containers in the multiplier stack are worth zero points. This is NOT based on the height of that stack. Mind you, they might change this rule in an update. It seems a bit brutal.

Mr Obnoxious
01-05-2003, 08:25 PM
Maybe this question should be referred to the FIRST forum

Merle
01-05-2003, 08:30 PM
We brought up this pyramid stacking question to Woody at the Manchester, NH Q&A period. His answer was the total number of boxes in your area minus stack height (by measuring stick, not actual number of boxes in stack) multiplied by stack height (again, by measuring stick).

I agree that this does not match what the rules currently state and expect we will get a clarification to match the above counting method.

There is still an advantage to flipping a box upside down in that you don't have to lift it as high to get the next higher stack multiple.

Rusted_Grail
01-05-2003, 08:36 PM
A question that goes along with this is if a box is leaning or touching your multiplier stack, but not part of it, does it count for points

cbudrecki
01-14-2003, 09:47 AM
Thanx to update 3, this question has beeen cleared up. The update simply states that you take your total number of bins, subtract the height of the tallest stack, then multiply that number by your multiplyer.

Quentinfool
01-14-2003, 08:32 PM
LOL!! Yeah... we have someone on our team named, Shu... boy that's gonna be a lot of bad jokes.

bad jokes are an essential building block in FIRST arn't they?

what do you call a cow with no legs? ground beef!

Jeremy L
01-15-2003, 01:51 PM
as long as we're on the subject of bad jokes...

what do you call a contortionist from the Philippines?

A Manila folder.

Jeremy_Mc
01-15-2003, 02:17 PM
haha...

anyhow, the rule (imho) reads that any bin touching a stack doesn't count...

i think they elaborated on this somewhere but i'm unable to find it right now...


*jeremy