PDA

View Full Version : Autonomous code

PBoss
01-14-2003, 02:41 AM
Hi,
I was just trying to make my robot controller run forward for some time, and then backward. I have tried so hard but the thing acts so wierd.
I started with the following code, before the serout statement:
count VAR byte
FOR count=1 TO 100
p1_y=150
debug ? count
NEXT
I can see the counter going from 1 to 100 and repeating infinitely in the debug screen, but the p1_y doesn't go to 150, and the operator interface says BASIC ERROR

I'm a newbie, so please tell me what is wrong with this code, and help me write code for making the robot just move forward for some time, and then backwards for some time
THANKS

Lloyd Burns
01-14-2003, 07:01 AM
The RC program must loop through the "Do ... Loop" about once every 40 ms. It may be looosing sync with the OI with the time you are wasting, because, for each packet-loop, you're counting to 150, and for each count value you're sending a debug message and re-setting p1_y to a value without leaving your "count-loop". For each packet-loop. you're also doing the processing of the "Do ... Loop".

Now, the OI sends a new buch of values to the Serin line every few ms. each with a (no pun inteded) serial number, called a packet number which the default program ignores.

If you allow the RC to read packet_num (uncomment the declaration of packet_num near the end of declarations, near the start of the program, set c_packet_num CON 1 (changed from 0), and put packet_num in the correct place in the serin line) then you can store the packet number in a variable like "start_packet_num", and set p1_y to your value until you have gone 150 loops.

if auton_mode = 0 then fugeddabahtit

if packet_num = 0 then pack_count_zero = pack_count_zero + 1
'you have to declare the variables like pack_count_zero and temp (seen below)

if packet_num < start_packet_no then it_overflowed
temp = packet_num - start_packet_num
goto to checked_p_num

it_overflowed: