PDA

View Full Version : Who doesn't want to be an engineer?

Marygrace
04-17-2003, 12:23 AM
I always hear about people wanting to be engineers, and that that is what FIRST is promoting but, what if we don't. Personnally, i want to be an astronomer. I want to see what else people want to be besides an engineer.

Kristina
04-17-2003, 12:49 AM
Sean330 linked me up to this thread because it's "totally my thread". And yes it is...

Right now I'm majoring in Political Science with an emphasis on International Relations or American Politics and maybe minor in public policy. That's what I love and I want to be a lawyer (no lawyer jokes, I already get them enough) or politics would be really cool too.

I think it's really important to bridge the gap between science and other subjects and FIRST did that for me. How are policy makers going to regulate technology if they don't have a basic understanding of it? How can judges ban certain scientific practices if they don't know what it is? They can't, science is everywhere and important. I think a lot of non-future-engineers get prejudiced in the FIRST program but its important for everyone to get a chance to be exposed. We're important too and bring a new perspective and gifts to each team. I know that I have such a great appreciation of science and technology through FIRST and have learned so many other applicable things for my future too.

Marygrace
04-17-2003, 12:51 AM
I completely agree, like most of the scholarships offered are for if you want to be an engineer. What about the rest of us?

Sean_330
04-17-2003, 12:54 AM
I have no desire to be an engineer. I want to go to law school at Pepperdine and study law with an emphasis in criminal law Someday, I hope to become an assistant DA.

If I do not get into law school (or find no way to pay for it), I want to become a police officer, hopefully for the LAPD, and later get promoted to a detective.