PDA

View Full Version : How to wire a 40 Amp Breaker?


dez250
09-07-2003, 12:04 PM
Can anyone show me a site where it explains correctly how to Wire a 40 amp Breaker. Or can anyone explain correctly themselves how to wire a 40 amp breaker from this past year?
~Mike

rbayer
09-07-2003, 12:20 PM
Well, basically you just run some 6awg wire from the 120amp to the metal contact plate/screw on the 40amp block. You then connect one of the wires coming out of the 40amp block (there should be four of them) to each speed controller you want to power. You get the ground for the speed controller from the 20/30amp block.

dez250
09-07-2003, 12:29 PM
Ok i should post that i am talking aboput the maxi stlye circuit braker panel and that also i mean wiring the breaker itself, not wiring it into the bot. I have 2 here, and i need to know how to wire them.
~Mike

FotoPlasma
09-07-2003, 01:07 PM
http://www2.usfirst.org/2003comp/robot_electrical_blueprint.pdf

The Maxi Breaker is in sector 4-D. The 1cm screw is attached to the positive terminal of the 120A main breaker (or whatever your main supply is), and the four wires coming out of the breaker itself are to loads.

Needing to know "how to wire them" isn't very descriptive. If you could be a little more concise about what you need, I'm sure we can be a little more helpful. Everything rbayer said is absolutely correct.

dez250
09-07-2003, 01:26 PM
ok well i know what rob said is correct, but what i am asking is that when you get the 40 amp breakers in the Kit Of Parts, it all ready has a wire on one end. I obtained some from the yard sale on saturday and they are not pre-wired. I was wondering if there might be anyone that can help with how to add the neccessary wires so they may be used.
~Mike

Al Skierkiewicz
09-09-2003, 08:06 AM
Dez,
The breaker panel was prewired, not the breaker itself. Did you obatain the breaker panel or individual breakers? The breaker panel uses contacts specifically designed for the block, and as such I think they are only available from the original manufacturer. The blades on the individual breakers are standard sizes and you should be able to find those in DigiKey or other supplier catalogs.

Andy Brockway
09-09-2003, 10:17 AM
From Update #1 you need the following pieces:

12077734 (4) terminated leads
12077532 fuse block
12092231 8 position insert
12077734 top

You may have some of these, they are from Delphi Connection Sytems according to the Update.