PDA

View Full Version : Bug: "Infinite" Login not "Infinite"


Ian W.
12-02-2003, 09:07 PM
OK, I clicked the "Remember me" checkbox when logging in. But whenever I leave CD and come back, I'm not logged in. Not a huge problem, but I'd think that vB would have this solved by now (or my browser hates me and isn't playing nice with PHP Session Handling [I think that's what vB uses, seems to be that at least]).

So, yeah, not a huge problem, but maybe look into that, and figure out if I'm just dumb, or if there's actually a bug there.

Clark Gilbert
12-02-2003, 09:09 PM
OK, I clicked the "Remember me" checkbox when logging in. But whenever I leave CD and come back, I'm not logged in. Not a huge problem, but I'd think that vB would have this solved by now (or my browser hates me and isn't playing nice with PHP Session Handling [I think that's what vB uses, seems to be that at least]).

So, yeah, not a huge problem, but maybe look into that, and figure out if I'm just dumb, or if there's actually a bug there.
Wouldn't that have to do with the cookies for your web browser?

Ian W.
12-02-2003, 09:12 PM
Wouldn't that have to do with the cookies for your web browser?
PHP Session Handling (from the little that I know from playing with it) works with either cookies or appending a "Session ID" to the end of the URL.

I'm using it on a small website I made, and it seems to work fine, without the SID being appended to the URL, so I don't think it's cookies not working, but I'm not sure.

I'll play with my browser when I have some free time, but I just realized that I have some (not so) happy calc homework, so I'd better go do that... :p

Wetzel
12-02-2003, 09:31 PM
OK, I clicked the "Remember me" checkbox when logging in. But whenever I leave CD and come back, I'm not logged in. Not a huge problem, but I'd think that vB would have this solved by now (or my browser hates me and isn't playing nice with PHP Session Handling [I think that's what vB uses, seems to be that at least]).

So, yeah, not a huge problem, but maybe look into that, and figure out if I'm just dumb, or if there's actually a bug there.


I have not had this problem on three diffrent computers (login time diffrence more then a day on two of them) with IE 5.5 and 6.

It seems to me that I remember something like this happening before, and flushing the cache fixed it, but I may be wrong with that recollection.

Brandon will probaly have a better answer.


Wetzel

Brandon Martus
12-02-2003, 10:50 PM
I have not had this problem on three diffrent computers (login time diffrence more then a day on two of them) with IE 5.5 and 6.

It seems to me that I remember something like this happening before, and flushing the cache fixed it, but I may be wrong with that recollection.

Brandon will probaly have a better answer.


Wetzel
I say clear your cache, temporary internet files, and cookies. The fact that we switched from vb2 to vb3 may have left stale cookies in your computer that may be messing something up. Who knows.

What ISP do you have? I remember issues in the past with AOL where you had to allow cookies, else it wouldn't work due to AOL's roaming proxies.

Madison
12-02-2003, 11:05 PM
if the boy knows what PHP session handling is, would you *really* expect that he uses AOL? :)

Wetzel
12-02-2003, 11:14 PM
if the boy knows what PHP session handling is, would you *really* expect that he uses AOL? :)

The skills of the son are not nessecarily reflective of the skills of the father.
The father pays the bills.

Wetzel

Brandon Martus
12-03-2003, 12:27 AM
True.

and for what its worth, vBulletin uses its own session handler, instead of php sessions. that makes it possible for us to get the nifty 'whos online' page.

Ian W.
12-03-2003, 08:02 AM
I say clear your cache, temporary internet files, and cookies. The fact that we switched from vb2 to vb3 may have left stale cookies in your computer that may be messing something up. Who knows.

What ISP do you have? I remember issues in the past with AOL where you had to allow cookies, else it wouldn't work due to AOL's roaming proxies.
Eww, AOL?

I had to use that several times from my grandparent's house, so much pain...

Anyways, I'll try clearing my cache, cause that makes sense, and I haven't done it in a while.

I'll let you guys know later tonight when I finally get home.

Andy A.
12-03-2003, 06:58 PM
The fact that we switched from vb2 to vb3 may have left stale cookies in your computer that may be messing something up. Who knows.



I had the same problem. Clearing my cookies did the trick.

vb3 did not like something about vb2's cookie.

-Andy A.

Joe Matt
12-05-2003, 01:04 PM
Not to bring back this thread but I have never experenced logging problems, but once you installed the Gama version today, I have had logging problems. I'm using Safari.

Brandon Martus
12-05-2003, 01:11 PM
I changed where the forums are located earlier today.

They were at http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/
Then with vB3, I moved them to http://forums.chiefdelphi.com/
They are now at http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/

I changed them back to hopefully preserve any bookmarks that you may have had.

So anyway, you probably got logged out when I (sneakily) moved the forums.

apk
12-05-2003, 01:43 PM
I changed them back to hopefully preserve any bookmarks that you may have had.
*goes back to change bookmark once again*

I guess thats what I get for changing things too fast.

Brandon Martus
12-06-2003, 11:35 AM
... if there's actually a bug there.I have been logged out twice in the past day or two. I'll have to look into it a bit later.

Brandon Martus
12-08-2003, 08:43 AM
Ok, I changed a setting or two.
Let me know if you're still being logged out.

Please clear your cookies & cache if it happens, and then wait for it to happen a second time before reporting it.

Thanks.

Joe Matt
12-08-2003, 09:32 AM
Yeah, it's working for me now, AND my hybird view IS WORKING! :)

GO BRANDON!