PDA

View Full Version : New Robot Controllers

dddriveman
04-19-2004, 08:39 AM
While talking to the innovation first guy at the championship event he said that they are going to switch to new robot controllers and operator interfaces that use digital controls. He said that they are aiming at something that will use like PS2 controllers. He said that they are going to have to use lots of code to filter out the sensativity of the sticks on the controllers. What do you think of this? :yikes:

Ian W.
04-19-2004, 09:01 AM
I doubt anything on new controls. We used the old PBASIC ones for a few years, I assume we'll stick with these new C ones for longer.

I'd also be very much against all digital controls, as driving with analog controls is a lot easier, unless you like DDR or something like that.

Also that PS2 controller rumor has been around for a few years as well. I prefer the old joysticks, I've been using the same ones for three years now (literally, the same two joysticks from my team's rookie year).

Tom Bottiglieri
04-19-2004, 10:29 AM
using digital controls would just make programming harder, and wouldnt really give that much of an advantage. Plus, this probably wouldn't fly with FIRST. Dean Kamen made a it a huge point in his "homework" to make it as easy for rookie teams as possible. Rookies have a hard enough time programming as it is, and this would probably just make it worse.

JBabbie
04-22-2004, 10:18 AM
I highly doubt that they will use a different kind of controller next year. especially since not many people are complaining about the ones we have now. personally , I like what we have now.... only problem I had with controlls was the hat on the new joysticks breaking.

MikeDubreuil
04-22-2004, 10:55 AM