PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard Monitor


sanddrag
12-06-2004, 11:03 PM
Does anyone here use motherboard monitor? I got it today because my computer was lagging while playing a game and was generally slow. This software is awesome. I found out that my CPU was over 100 degrees hot! Also, my power supply shows only like -7.6V for the -12V supply and only like -3.7 for the -5V supply so I think it is dying. Also, my chipset fan is varying in speed between 2000 and 7000 rpm.

I opened up the case and since it had been a while it was filled with dust. I blew it out and now the temperature is only 89 degrees. But my power supply is still low, and my fan is still varying in RPM (and is kind of loud). So, I'll replace the power supply, and then see if that pesky little fan is any happier and finally see if my game runs better.

So anyway, if you don't have it, Motherboard Monitor is a really cool little program.

So if you've got it, post your stats.

Also, I should probably get off CD and shut this beast down for the night. I don't want low voltages to cause harm to any components.

Al Skierkiewicz
12-06-2004, 11:24 PM
Sanddrag,
Don't take any chances, the power supply should not be that low. I might not trust the monitor so I would get in there with a meter but since both of the negative supplies are low, you are about to cause some disk overwrites that you may not recover from. I would, disconnect the drive, power on and measure the motherboard input connector while connected to the board. If it reads the same as the monitor within a few tenths of a volt then the supply is toast. Replacements are pretty cheap, like about $50. If you are lucky enough to live near a FRY they are probably cheapest. You can try MCM or a computer mail order for replacement in your case style. Don't wait!

NoodleKnight
12-07-2004, 12:03 AM
Motherboard monitor doesn't support the PC's I'm using, but I use other software. My laptop averages around 60*C, plus I get to control how fast the fan spins. As for my other computer, I have no idea, it's a prebuilt so it shouldn't overheat, theoretically.

gobeavs
12-07-2004, 12:09 AM
I just use an nVIDIA utility that is compatible with my nFORCE 3. That shows me most of what I need, then in video card settings it shows me the temps for my video card...between those two that is all I really need.

evulish
12-07-2004, 01:59 AM
My G4 is running at 121F with no fans running.

Tom Bottiglieri
12-07-2004, 07:33 AM
100+o is probably nothing to worry about on the CPU.

I have a p4 3.0ghz cpu stock that runs at about 85 degrees. I usually run it at 3.2ghz and the normal temp is about 100. Its been very stable and as long as you dont neglect your case, you should be fine.

sanddrag
12-07-2004, 10:07 AM
I don't know if this is a glitch but I just saw my chipset fan dip as low as 430 and go as high as 10,000. But at every update (10 second intervals) the rpm of this fan is very different. Anyway, I'm getting a new PS tomorrow so for now, the beast sleeps.

Marc P.
12-07-2004, 12:20 PM
100+o is probably nothing to worry about on the CPU.

I have a p4 3.0ghz cpu stock that runs at about 85 degrees. I usually run it at 3.2ghz and the normal temp is about 100. Its been very stable and as long as you dont neglect your case, you should be fine.


I'd hope that's in Fahrenheit. Make sure you know what units the temperature is reporting in. It's alright for a CPU to run up to 130-135o Fahrenheit, but that's only about 55-57o Celsius. If your CPU is running over 60-70o Celsius, there's a cooling problem. Most CPU dies are only rated to 80-85oC, any hotter than that and they'll burn out pretty quickly.

kcy88
12-17-2004, 05:13 PM
100+o is probably nothing to worry about on the CPU.

I have a p4 3.0ghz cpu stock that runs at about 85 degrees. I usually run it at 3.2ghz and the normal temp is about 100. Its been very stable and as long as you dont neglect your case, you should be fine.

I recently built my own PC. The only problem I had was the CPU temp; like most people. I also have a p4 3.0ghz cpu. However, I found that the stock heatsink is not really that good. CPU temp was between 57-70 degrees C. I immediately changed the stock heatsink to one i bought,an Artic Cooling Super Silent Pro 4. This brought my CPU temperature to 36-41 (idle) and 60-64 (100%) when rendering. I would recommend you get a better heatsink.

davelu
03-06-2005, 08:44 PM
How about Cpu running at around 64C to 70C on a laptop at 100%?

Amd 2500 + M processor

hd around 45-53 C

DarkJedi613
03-07-2005, 07:20 AM
I'd hope that's in Fahrenheit. Make sure you know what units the temperature is reporting in. It's alright for a CPU to run up to 130-135o Fahrenheit, but that's only about 55-57o Celsius. If your CPU is running over 60-70o Celsius, there's a cooling problem. Most CPU dies are only rated to 80-85oC, any hotter than that and they'll burn out pretty quickly.
I know AMD XP's die temperature are 90 degrees Celsisus. Pentiums are lower (around 80).

jdiwnab
03-07-2005, 07:30 AM
I tried Motherboard Monitor, but was getting very odd info. BIOS was telling me that the processor was about 55C. MBM told me that it was 67C and peaked at 150C (very fast spike). It also told me the case temp was 9C (but the readout on the case said 73F, 40C, nowere near what MBM said) I knew my processor was hot, but I wanted to monitor the temp in windows. But MBM didn't work right for me.

Al Skierkiewicz
03-07-2005, 07:35 AM
I tried Motherboard Monitor, but was getting very odd info. BIOS was telling me that the processor was about 55C. MBM told me that it was 67C and peaked at 150C (very fast spike). It also told me the case temp was 9C (but the readout on the case said 73F, 40C, nowere near what MBM said) I knew my processor was hot, but I wanted to monitor the temp in windows. But MBM didn't work right for me.
It is possible you do not have all the optional temp sensors installed. If that is the case, the software makes a feel good reading out of thin air. Most motherboards come with a temp sensor installed on the board but the proc is optional.