View Full Version : Entanglement DQ........at CSU
03-20-2002, 01:25 PM
Okay, my team mates just came back from CSU at the Buckeye Regional. Here is my 'beef'; if you go onto the first web site and the rules say that 'NO PART OF THE ROBOT CAN BE UNDERNEITH THE GOAL OR IT RESULTS IN A D.Q.' This did not exactly happen in the Elmination Rounds when in our second run not only did a robot's tether go under a goal, but (clearly in our video footage) you can see that the other robot from the opposite alliance was wedged underneith the goal, lifting their back wheels off the ground. The other teams did not recieve a d.q. like a team did the previous day.
03-20-2002, 04:55 PM
The rule states that "A robot may not intentionally deploy anything under the goal. I agree that if the tether went under a goal than the team should have been DQ'ed. As for the robot, I don't agree about the DQ.
Our robot has slanted sides. We did this as a defensive strategy. If another robot hits us, the force will be deflected up the sides. When we are up against a goal, about 1.5" of our bot is under the edge of the goal. We asked the judges and they said this is OK because we aren't deploying anything under the goal.
Just my $.03 (inflation) worth :)
03-20-2002, 05:43 PM
We never had this problem- but the ruling from VCU was a little different
We were part of an alliance that was DQ'ed because when the match was over, part of their arm was under the goal (about 1in at the most).
At VCU, they DQ'ed people based on whether or not any part of their robot was under the bottom surface, no matter from what angle or if for purpose (in our partners case, it was completely accidental, and it was just the way the goal was pushed, there was no damage or effect on the match because of the interaction)
That's how they called it, and they seemed to call it and the end of the match. So if you went under (incidentally.. no one did it intentionally that I saw) and were out before the end of the make, it was ok, but if when they looked over the field at the end of the match and you were under, it was zero points & DQ for the alliance.
So it seemed at least...
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.