PDA

View Full Version : Help with ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY


shoman24v
12-27-2004, 10:59 AM
Hey, I am currently working on a drawing in Autocad Map 2004. There is an object that I cannot delete that is an ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY . It is on the same layer that my border is on. The layer name is "D-BORDER-1". When I click the proxy entity to get the properties of it nothing really shows up, just the stuff under the general tab and a pull down box that just says "ACAD_PROXY_ENTITY". I have done searches on the internet and in Autocads help and it doesn't really explain how to remove this object. I am wonding if anyone here has worked with these and can help me out.

Thanks.

Elgin Clock
12-27-2004, 11:10 AM
File>Drawing Utilities>Purge All

If that doesn't work, see if there is an x-ref in the drawing that is calling that proxy out.

Type in Xref <enter> and it will show you a list of External References in the drawing.

These may be your most common culprits to a problem like this..

If not, and you find out what the problem was.. let me know just for kicks.

shoman24v
12-27-2004, 11:15 AM
File>Drawing Utilities>Purge All

If that doesn't work, see if there is an x-ref in the drawing that is calling that proxy out.

Type in Xref <enter> and it will show you a list of External References in the drawing.

These may be your most common culprits to a problem like this..

If not, and you find out what the problem was.. let me know just for kicks.

Well I have already purged everything in the drawing, I typed in Xref and there is nothing attached to the drawing :(

Kevin Sevcik
12-27-2004, 03:04 PM
Very confusing... Also, if you didn't know, a proxy entity is basically a placeholder AutoCAD uses when it doesn't have the appropriate plugins, etc, to properly render an entity.

So, the next question(s), I think, is where the original drawing came from, what it was of, and what version of AutoCAD it was made in. And when you're opening the drawing, does it say what it's making the proxy object in place of?

shoman24v
12-27-2004, 05:50 PM
Very confusing... Also, if you didn't know, a proxy entity is basically a placeholder AutoCAD uses when it doesn't have the appropriate plugins, etc, to properly render an entity.

So, the next question(s), I think, is where the original drawing came from, what it was of, and what version of AutoCAD it was made in. And when you're opening the drawing, does it say what it's making the proxy object in place of?

Now that I enabled the start up proxy box I get this, AutoCAD seems to be missing programs needed to show those graphics. I'm going to assume that it was done in Land Development. Here are a list of the missing programs.

RText
ATEXT
AecCivilBase
AecBase40
AecCivilDtm
AecCivilDraft
AeccvBase10
AeccLand10

If thats it then I need to find a computer with Land Development.

Kevin Sevcik
12-27-2004, 06:33 PM
Now that I enabled the start up proxy box I get this, AutoCAD seems to be missing programs needed to show those graphics. I'm going to assume that it was done in Land Development. Here are a list of the missing programs.

RText
ATEXT
AecCivilBase
AecBase40
AecCivilDtm
AecCivilDraft
AeccvBase10
AeccLand10

If thats it then I need to find a computer with Land Development.

That would be ideal, but you should be able get by using the Object Enabler. Go to this page: Autodesk Object Enablers (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2753223&linkID=2475161)
Just figure out which particular objct enabler you need and you should be able to see the objects for real and delete them yourself.

Swampdude
12-27-2004, 06:41 PM
If your objects are all in model space, just "wblock" select all the items you want, and save them out as another file. Then open that file, and it should have dumped the items in question. BTW this is the most effective way of getting rid of garbage data, better than purge.

shoman24v
01-03-2005, 09:53 AM
That would be ideal, but you should be able get by using the Object Enabler. Go to this page: Autodesk Object Enablers (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2753223&linkID=2475161)
Just figure out which particular objct enabler you need and you should be able to see the objects for real and delete them yourself.

Great that link helped me alot.

thank you Kevin! :)