PDA

View Full Version : [moderated]: Champ Head Refs accepting your ?'s


Aidan F. Browne
04-17-2005, 02:37 PM
Wow! Time flies! T-minus 3 days… and counting!

In order to help facilitate the Driver’s Meeting on Thursday at the Championship, the Head Refs are wondering: what is still on your minds? Teams asking questions now will help us build the answers into our Driver’s Meeting presentation.

Here is how this will work… and PLEASE obey these requests…

1) This is a special forum. You can post to it, but those posts will be moderated (meaning they will not be seen publicly until approved). (There will not be any censorship of legitimate questions – the intent is to filter out nonsense, attempted answers by others, or posts that don’t follow theses rules.)

2) What you may post here are questions EXACTLY as you would ask them if the microphone was handed to you on Thursday – i.e. short and sweet. (The intent here is to keep the questions focused, so we can actually answer them.)

3) No questions will be answered here on Chief Delphi – all answers will be incorporated into the presentation at the Driver’s Meeting. (The intent here is to help shorten the Q&A at the Driver’s Meeting, and let us know what is on your minds ahead of time; that way we can think it out, talk it out, and have a consolidated answer for you Thursday.)

4) We will take our last look at these questions at 9pm on Tuesday, at which time the forum will be closed. (We need sleep sometime this week!)



Go Teams!!! Travel Safely!!! We’ll see you on Thursday!


Yours truly,

The Head Ref Team :)

Ricky Q.
04-17-2005, 02:55 PM
Will penalties or disablement be called for tetras that are going over the drivers station wall / plane of the wall or is that no longer an issue due to the new protective covering mentioned in update #20?

Winged Globe
04-17-2005, 03:01 PM
What is the final ruling on the legality and scoring of "STJB's" (e.g. two tetras nested sideways, then stacked on a goal) ?

Matt Krass
04-17-2005, 03:03 PM
Can the coach take picture froms behind the player station as long as he doesn't cross the drivers line?

Corey Balint
04-17-2005, 03:15 PM
Can the coach cross the drivers station line? If so, as the clock resets to 120 or when the music sounds?

AmyPrib
04-18-2005, 12:42 AM
Please clarify how the Update 20 of G15 will be enforced in the case where Blue is blocking (sitting outside zone, not moving) Red from leaving their LZ, and Red bangs into stationary Blue....
or...
if Blue is driving by to go somewhere else, and Red bangs into them when leaving their zone.... does anyone get a penalty? Will it always be enforced as per the "source" of interference/contact, since Blue is not the "source" in these cases?

AmyPrib
04-18-2005, 12:46 AM
Will a robot be considered behind the endzone line in a case where the robot base, or arm, is supported by a tetra (and therefore not touching outside the white line) such that the robot would otherwise be touching outside the white line?
Along the same lines, if the robot is clearly and fully behind the endzone line, and a tetra touching outside the line gets pushed into the robot, will the robot be counted as behind the line?

AmyPrib
04-18-2005, 12:47 AM
Do the refs at each field have a copy of all rules and updates available to them at any time in cases of "questionable" calls?

AmyPrib
04-18-2005, 12:48 AM
Regarding Q/A 1852, or Update 20, if Blue is holding a tetra and knocks off a tetra from their own loading station (while not in LZ), is that a 10pt penalty? This specific case is not defined in the answer.

AmyPrib
04-18-2005, 12:58 AM
Can you give us a few clear examples of what will be considered "overly aggressive play"? On the same token, can you give us some clear examples of what acceptable defense is?
i.e. Can I bump into another robot from 2-3ft away, a few times in a row, to disrupt his stacking position?

Bharat Nain
04-18-2005, 01:12 AM
Suppose by any means, you have made a call and realize it was wrong after someone pointed it out to you[Don't mean to be ungracious at all]. Will you change the score? Will you change it if the scores have already been put up?

plutonium83
04-18-2005, 02:16 AM
Can we place tetras out side the playing field? Just say we steal a tetra from an opponent and we want to make sure that the opposing alliance cannot use it.

Warren Boudreau
04-18-2005, 08:22 AM
Is the 3-ft line in the players station (the starting line) a line or a plane? In other words, can the driver's hand or head cross the line without incurring a penalty? Assuming that the driver does not touch the controls, of course.

Natchez
04-19-2005, 12:20 AM
What is the timeline that can be expected for reloading the auto-loaders by the field attendants? (At some regionals it was virtually instant, at others it took a while)

Jon K.
04-19-2005, 03:52 PM
Will a video camera be allowed on the control board, where we have the OI and the joysticks, behind the glass with the drivers and coach?

Aidan F. Browne
04-19-2005, 10:41 PM
Thanks all for the questions! We'll see you on Thursday with the answers. :D

Travel safe.

Benge, Paul, Larry, Lisa, Ron and Aidan