PDA

View Full Version : Out of money. What can I do?

Calvin
11-25-2005, 10:05 PM
We have a team of kids, and many other who want to join. And I have just realized that we don't have the $6,000 to register for the 1st Event.

Our last year's management people have left, and everything has fallen into my hands. I have found some organizations that might grant us the money. But I don't think we will have the money by December 9, 2005 (deadline).

Is it possible to negotiate with FIRST? Maybe pay the money later, or in increments? Iím sorry, I'm only a programmer and have just first looked into the world of actually running the team.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Simon Strauss
11-25-2005, 11:59 PM
noticed that a little late eh?

now for the helpful part of this post. although i am not part of the PR section of my team i do somehow have a better business sense then half of them and my mother is involved with money getting as a member of NEMO and one of the team parents for 1155, so i have a good idea of this forte of first, and my theory has always been shameless begging for money from anyone who would have even a remote interest and then some other people. through this method i have been able to receive for our team a grand and a bit last year and an expected 2 to 3 grand this year by myself, more than any other individual on the team. its kind of like introducing yourself to a girl you like, the worst they can say is no (and you don't run the risk of ridicule or your soul being eaten). ill try to find out from our teams administration on Monday if we have any sources of green that may be able to aid you all the way out in Oregon and ill talk to PR about how they can help, but my best answer is to try to contact one of the "all first mentors" such as robomom or kathiek because they will have more insight than i.

good luck, Simon

sanddrag
11-26-2005, 01:23 AM