PDA

View Full Version : College Stuff

kio_chan176
11-29-2005, 10:09 AM
I'm a just a freshman so this may be weird that I'm thinking about college already. But has anyone heard of any good engineering colleges/universities? I have a list of a few good ones I'm considering going to.

Amherst College
Brown University
Carnegie Mellon University
Columbia University - Columbia College
University of Pennsylvania
Williams College
Yale University

Anybody heard of some other good ones? I'd greatly appreciate any input on this. Thanks. :D

KenWittlief
11-29-2005, 11:07 AM
There are so many excellent engineering universities, it might be more productive to ask if there are any that should be avoided?

the list would be shorter :^)

Anne Shade
11-29-2005, 11:15 AM
It's good that you are starting to think about this early. It'll make it much easier for you come your senior year. There are lots of good engineering schools out there, many more than are on your list. Your goal shouldn't necessarily be to find the top school out there. It should be to find the school that best fits you. Here are a few questions to start you off:

1. What type of engineering do you want to do? (i.e. mechanical, electrical, civil, chemical, etc.)

2. Is there a particular part of the country you want to stay within or out of?

3. Do you want to have a more practical education or more theoretical? (Some engineering programs teach more to one side than the other, some are more balanced.)

4. What extracurriculars are important to you? (i.e. specific clubs, sports, etc.)

5. Do you want to have smaller classes/campus?

6. Is being in the middle of a large city ok or would you rather be in a small rural college town?

7. Are there any special programs that interest you? (i.e. honors colleges, special training, specific courses, etc.)

8. Do you want to co-op during your college years? (There are colleges with great co-op programs, some will help find internships as well)