PDA

View Full Version : Bad Radio???


EHaskins
02-06-2007, 06:10 PM
I was testing our robot for the first time with all the components from this year(RC, OI, Radios, ect.). It worked fine, but every few minutes the robot would stop moving just like it was being disabled.

After the first time I checked all the cables, RC-Radio, OI-Radio, and the dongle but it did it again.

After the second time I stayed where I could see both the RC and OI indicator lights. When the robot would be disabled the radio modem light would flash between red, yellow, and green, very quickly in what appeared to be a random pattern. The lights on the RC radio all blinked quickly in a random pattern. It did this for 3-4 seconds then re-connected and worked fine.

I switched the new radios with one that were laying around from before 2005. We ran the robot for about another 10-15 minutes without any issues.

I did not change the cables, RC, or OI. When I switched back to the new radios it continued to loose connection.

Is this a radio issue? Has anyone else had this happen? Should I check anything else?

Ricky Q.
02-06-2007, 06:13 PM
You will find significant discussion about this here:

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52485&highlight=OI+Issues

EHaskins
02-06-2007, 06:35 PM
You will find significant discussion about this here:

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52485&highlight=OI+Issues

Thanks, I don't know hoe I didn't find that.

Tytus Gerrish
02-06-2007, 07:59 PM
I've been running both 1889's and 179's robot arroundd today and neither's radio's will work for more than 10 seconds without cutting out

Ricky Q.
02-06-2007, 08:09 PM
Lets keep all discussion on the issues in the above referenced thread:

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52485&highlight=OI+Issues

Thanks