PDA

View Full Version : Radio Trouble


Wendy Holladay
02-07-2007, 09:19 AM
Need help with radios, my radio on transmitts from the OI to the RC, that works fine, but the receive from the RC to the OI has stopped working. I used the tether, that works fine but the new or old radios don't work from the RC to the OI so i get no PWM updates. ANY HELP??

thanks

Old Lady NASA engineer

EHaskins
02-07-2007, 09:36 AM
You should read this thread.
http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=52485

Alan Anderson
02-07-2007, 09:43 AM
As a first step, try replacing the radio data cables. You might have one with a bad connection.

Dave Flowerday
02-07-2007, 09:45 AM
You should read this thread.
The description of the problem here really doesn't sound like what's going on in the other thread. Whollada said that neither the new OR old modems work on the link from the RC to the OI, which is definitely not the case in the other thread.

My first advice would be to check that all connections are tight, and to swap out the modem cables with different ones. If it's happening with the new and old radios then the radios are unlikely to be the problem. Did a modem cable get forcefully yanked out of either the RC or OI recently? I know this can happen easily due to runaway robots, etc.

Does the RC->OI link ever work? Is it spotty, or is it completely dead? Do you occasionally see a blinking green light for "Valid RX" on the OI?

Rikit
02-07-2007, 09:55 AM
Thanks for the help all.
I'm on the team with whollada. She's going to try swapping components with last year's parts to issolate the problem. She was concerned with incompatibitliy issues between product years because the manual says 'not to swap' parts. IFI has told her there are no technical issues with this, so she's going to have at it. More troubleshooting... :ahh:

Alan Anderson
02-07-2007, 10:14 AM
As a second step, reverify that tethering works. Perhaps the team number on the OI has been changed since the last time the tether cable was connected.

ChrisMcK2186
02-07-2007, 10:15 AM
We went onto the IFI site and got a download to reapir some faulty software. Might work for you.

Chris

ICE MAN
02-07-2007, 10:19 AM
have you made sure that your radio is no where near the battery or any of the other motors. if so you might be getting interfrence from the battery or the motors due to magnetic and other such interfrence caused by the electric current.

Hope this helps,
-Cory

Wendy Holladay
02-07-2007, 01:39 PM
ok about an hour of phone time with ifi and the solution is

sending back this years radio.

all of last years equipment and rc and oi are fine. btw you can use last years radios with this years oi and rc and you can use this years oi with last years rc. ifi will repair/replace and return, but if you see this problem, that data can only run from the oi to the rc, get with ifi and you are probably sending the radios back.

thanks to all for your responses.

old lady NASA engineer