PDA

View Full Version : Disable After Autonomous


trollin1st
02-12-2007, 07:08 PM
We were wondering if after the autonomous period if the robot is disabled or if it remains in autonomous and then proceedes directly into operator mode?

half geek
02-12-2007, 07:30 PM
The short answer is I do not believe it will ever be disabled for a period after the autonomous period.
Edit: unless specifically disabled by the field operators.

In the default code, the robot is either in autonomous mode or not. Separately, the robot is either enabled or not.
In the following code segment from main(), the RC executes User_Autonomous_Code() if it is in autonomous_mode. User_Autonomous_Code() is a while loop, meaning the autonomous code and only the autonomous code will execute while (autonomous_mode). Immediately after leaving the autonomous while loop, main() calls Process_Data_From_Local_IO().

if (autonomous_mode)
{
User_Autonomous_Code();
}
}
Process_Data_From_Local_IO();

tdlrali
02-12-2007, 08:21 PM
I'm 99% sure that the refs switch from autonomous straight to teleoperated without disabling first.
I'm not sure how the arena controllers perform this switch, though. (autonomous -> disable -> enable or autonomous -> enable)

Either way, if the robot is disabled between auto and tele, it will only be for a brief moment.

Andrew Blair
02-12-2007, 09:35 PM
From my experience, in most cases where refs must count or otherwise need to reset something, all robots are disabled for a moment. Autonomous ends, all motion stops, there is a short pause, and then the cow-bell or whatever sounds, and it's time to go to work. And type run-on sentences.

Matt Krass
02-12-2007, 10:37 PM
It depends on which perspective, from the softwares point of view, it does go straight from autonomous to teleoperated, however field control is more than likely going to disable the robot at least once between autonomous and teleop, there is actually a flag in the software, but it escapes my memory, so if you have something affected by an arbitrarily disabled robot controller you can have it check the flag every time around to make sure it waits for an enabled robot.

Mark McLeod
02-13-2007, 09:38 AM
<G14>...referees may validate placement of KEEPERS during the pause following the end of the AUTONOMOUS PERIOD.

Japper
02-13-2007, 01:21 PM
Sorry I am new to this and have a few questions about autonomous mode as well...

How does the robot get into autonomous mode and how does it exit autonomous mode?

More importantly, how can I put our robot into autonomous mode to test the code that I have written for this?

Are we allowed to put our robots into a certain starting configuration by use of the joysticks or tethered mode before the start of the match and autonomous mode?

Due to lack of resources and the time crunch, we did not get our camera working and plan to just roll out of the end zone 10 feet and drop our keeper...

Any answers to the above questions would be very helpful!

Thanks

Gamer930
02-13-2007, 01:54 PM
Sorry I am new to this and have a few questions about autonomous mode as well...

(A) How does the robot get into autonomous mode and how does it exit autonomous mode?

More importantly, (B) how can I put our robot into autonomous mode to test the code that I have written for this?

(C) Are we allowed to put our robots into a certain starting configuration by use of the joysticks or tethered mode before the start of the match and autonomous mode?

Due to lack of resources and the time crunch, we did not get our camera working and plan to just roll out of the end zone 10 feet and drop our keeper...

Any answers to the above questions would be very helpful!

Thanks

I labeled the questions in the quote:

A. The field software controls whether your robot is disabled/in auto mode/operator mode. This is done by a cable you will plug into the competition port that is part of the field

B. To test auto mode you will want to make a dongle(switch) that plugs into the competition port. Information for the pin out can be found at: http://www.ifirobotics.com/docs/competition-port-pinout-guide-reva.pdf

C. You will have to bring your robot in your starting position by wagon/cart/dolly to the Queue line and then carry it by hand onto the field. . . So pretty much you can't tether up to your robot after you leave the pits except to possibly charge up your Pneumatics.

Japper I sent you a PM and E-mail with my contact information. . .
Contact me some how. . .