View Full Version : Two robocoaches
01-05-2008, 02:52 PM
it says in the definition of the TEAM in part 7:
ROBOCOACH: A pre-college student team member designated as the only team member
permitted to provide external stimuli to the ROBOT from either of the two ALLIANCE
ROBOCOACH STATIONS. There is one ROBOCOACH per TEAM.
but in the demonstration one team had two. Can anyone shed light on this?
01-05-2008, 03:02 PM
My guess was since team 2 wasn't using their robocoach, team 3's robot was being signaled by the robocoaches from teams 2 and 3 ... however, R65 says:
Active SIGNALING DEVICES shall:
• not be used to interfere with any other ROBOT
Though, I'm not sure if it's considered "interfering" since signaling the other robot was intentional.
01-05-2008, 03:09 PM
Okay, i just wanted to know if there was any kind of official info. I was thinking that might be the case but i didn't want to risk.
Also, on another note, wouldn't that mean we would need a second remote (if we wanted to use a second robocoach)?
01-05-2008, 06:43 PM
In the rules it does state that you can only have one coach on your team, but you are allowed to borrow robo-coaches that your alliance partners aren't using so you can have up to 2 for one of you alliance's robots
01-05-2008, 07:10 PM
Actually, only one ROBOCoach is allowed per team. They had 2 ROBOCoaches because the team that didnt have one offered to help, and was programmed to that robot. Pretty much another team's person helping drive one robot
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.