PDA

View Full Version : Team 2064 and Grant Ideas- (needed)

kngscrpn24
03-27-2008, 09:51 AM
Recently I was assigned the task of finding grants, and writing them for the team. I've been with our two-year-old team from the start, so I have the knowledge. I'm also a good english student and an avid reader. What I dont have, however, is the knowledge of what grants to go for, and how to go about procuring them. I searched "grants" in google and received more than I ever wanted to know. How much of this is accurate or scam, I do not know- so I came to the FIRST community. So, if anyone reading this could help guide me through the grant process, I would be eternally grateful.

Okay, so this may sound rushed, but I have a paper due in a couple minutes. sorry.

Rick TYler
03-27-2008, 12:42 PM
1. Find a good local library.
2. Go (in person) to the reference desk.
3. Ask them for help.
4. Apply for lots of grants.

It's not hard -- just a lot of work. Ask me how I know:]

JYang
03-27-2008, 03:35 PM
See if your state has government sponsored grants for technology. Browse tehcnology websites to see if they have sponro programs.

Also, call corporations in your local area and ask if they have a grant application that you can fill out; its better to have local sponsors than random ones. And don't hesitate to ask anyone... our team had a bakery sponsor us a few years ago :D

And if all else fails, try and hold fundraisers... they might seem like nothing but sometimes they can bring in more money than grants

GL!

nzamorski
03-27-2008, 03:50 PM
FIRST has some companies which offerer grants/sponsorships to teams here: http://usfirst.org/community/frc/content.aspx?id=7024