PDA

View Full Version : Pneumatic breakout question.


IndySam
11-25-2008, 10:02 AM
In the past when we wanted to use a two way valve we would wire it with diodes and just switch the spike from +12 to -12. I don't see where on the pneumatic bumper this is possible.

Any suggestions on using a two way valve withe the pneumatic breakout?

Mark McLeod
11-25-2008, 10:22 AM
The wiring demonstrated on the Data Connectivity Diagram (http://www.usfirst.org/uploadedFiles/2009%20Data%20diagram.pdf) indicates we must use two outputs for a double solenoid.
Or you can still use a Spike-only solution or a Spike and diode approach.

Eric will be along with the definitive answer momentarily:)

rtfgnow
11-25-2008, 10:34 AM
Mark is right, you will use one of the eight outputs on the pneumatic breakout for each single solenoid or 2 for a double solenoid. Spikes can still be used if you want/need to. We did it on our beta robot to prove that it is possible and because we would need a bigger breakout if we were to run all pneumatics off of it.

dmellich
12-23-2008, 02:58 PM
Is it correct to assume we need to "assemble" a 2 pin connector cable for the Solenoid Breakout to use with a double solenoid?

Mark McLeod
12-23-2008, 03:21 PM
Yes, you do need a 2-pin connector cable to hook the solenoids to the Solenoid Breakout.
The 2-pin connector cables that came with the early control system, and will come in the KOP, can be cut in half to give you a pair of connectors.

EricVanWyk
12-23-2008, 04:10 PM
Quick Reminder -

When using a double solenoid with the cRIO module, use two channels.