PDA

View Full Version : How has robotics affected you?

Adam.garcia
02-14-2010, 09:10 PM
Hello,

I have been wondering something for a long time. I want to ask people how Robotics has affected their lives. Thanks everyone and I can't wait until competition.

scottydoh
02-14-2010, 09:44 PM
Oh wow. We could all probably go one forever about how FIRST has changed our lives.

I'll share just a little bit of my story. A little background first;

Im an architecture student, and for those of you that don't know about architecture school, we have to build and draw alot of complex models and designs. This often leads to alot of sleepless nights. I pride myself in getting at least 8 hours of sleep every night while my classmates can be up for almost 72 hours straight, all while still having every ounce of my work done and stress free. A large majority of my class is openly jealous of how calm and in control I am during the hectic critique (presentation) weeks.

I attribute all of my time and stress managment as well as my fabrication and public speaking skills to the experiences Ive had in FIRST.

dtengineering
02-14-2010, 10:05 PM
I've managed to convince my wife that Valentine's Day is February 24th. :)

Jason

jamie_1930
02-14-2010, 10:24 PM
First off I had to spotlight what dtengineering said, but on with what you've asked. This is my third year in FIRST FRC and throughout the previous years I've worked mainly on mechanical, but have knowledge in electrical and programming work as well, which has caused me to already start becoming multi-disciplined in engineering. Where this has probably the greatest effect is that, after hearing that this existed, I would like to pursue a career as a Mechatronic engineer. In addition to this if anyone has any information on becoming a Mechatronic engineer, or recommendations of good schools, feel free to email me.

Phoenix Spud
02-14-2010, 10:56 PM