PDA

View Full Version : Video During Presentation?

AnibaS
02-20-2010, 08:02 PM
I'm curious to know whether teams are showing their video during their Chairman's Presentation or not.

Our team is probably not going to show our video, and just use posters as visuals.

Nastassja M
02-26-2010, 02:22 AM
Videos sound like a good idea but it does take time away from the Q&A and I think that would help the judges get to know you better. You said you're doing posters and such as a visual. Does that mean that you didn't do the essay?

Karibou
02-26-2010, 02:43 AM
Videos sound like a good idea but it does take time away from the Q&A and I think that would help the judges get to know you better. You said you're doing posters and such as a visual. Does that mean that you didn't do the essay?

All teams are required to submit the essay, and that essay was submitted online. This is my first year working on the CA, but to my knowledge, the judges have read the essay beforehand, so it doesn't need to be re-read during the presentation. I believe that there's a 5 minute limit for the Q&A and a 5 minute limit for the presentation, so showing a video would eat up the presentation time, not the Q&A time. (however, I could be interpreting the PDF incorrectly: again, it's my first year working with the award)

We'll probably be showing the video with our presentation. Because it's required this year, we would like to see some payoff for the work and effort that we put into making it, so that it wasn't done just to fulfill a requirement.

David Brinza
02-26-2010, 06:04 AM
You might have a few clips from your video as part of your presentation.

Simply hitting the "play" button, standing still for a 3-minute video, then jumping to Q&A won't impress judges as much as a live, interactive session.

We learned that via judge's feedback a while back.

AnibaS
02-26-2010, 07:14 PM