PDA

View Full Version : [TBA]: No Elim Ties on TBA?


Chris is me
03-14-2010, 06:44 PM
I noticed that for my team's performance at WPI, neither 3-3 tie was listed in elims, and the scores for QF2-4 and 2-5 were in the spots for QF2-1 and 2-2 (where the ties go). Is this a bug or feature? Can it be fixed?

SamC
03-14-2010, 06:55 PM
I believe TBA just scrapes data from the FIRST results page, which doesn't appear to show those matches either. http://www2.usfirst.org/2010comp/events/WOR/matchresults.html

rtfgnow
03-14-2010, 07:38 PM
Technically the 4th amd 5th match are replays, thus the ties are not officially recognized.

Greg Marra
03-19-2010, 12:57 AM
I believe TBA just scrapes data from the FIRST results page, which doesn't appear to show those matches either. http://www2.usfirst.org/2010comp/events/WOR/matchresults.html

This is correct. We can't get more information than FIRST publishes.

GaryVoshol
03-19-2010, 06:36 AM
Technically the 4th amd 5th match are replays, thus the ties are not officially recognized.

That's right, it's a feature of the system, based on the way the tournament rules are written:
In order to allow equal time between matches for all ALLIANCES, the order of play will be:
QF1-1, QF2-1, QF3-1, QF4-1,
Then QF1-2, QF2-2, QF3-2, QF4-2,
Then QF1-3*, QF2-3*, QF3-3*, QF4-3*
Then any QF replays due to ties*
Then SF1-1, SF2-1, SF1-2, SF2-2, SF1-3*, SF2-3*
Then any SF replays due to ties*
Then F-1, F-2, F-3*
Then any F replays due to ties*
(* - if required)(emphasis mine)

If you look at the match results for an event, you will see that QF1-1 is listed as being played after QF1-3, when the QF goes to more than 3 matches. However if QF-1 is a tie and then QF-2 and QF-3 are won by the same alliance, the tie result is shown.

Pat Fairbank
03-19-2010, 02:11 PM
Speaking as a scorekeeper, tied matches in the eliminations are treated as replays in FMS. We're supposed to note the ties and forward the information to FIRST after the event so that they can later update the results page manually, at which point I assume TBA would be able to pick them up.