PDA

View Full Version : Digital I/O putting out +5V when robot disabled


pschre
12-11-2010, 11:34 AM
Our technical mentor and rookies were trying out code to put our compressor on a toggle (joystick button). it is plugged into a digital i/o and not a relay port. But when we first power up the robot, and our teleop is still disabled, we are getting +5 to the Spike which is powering the compressor. We do not have the pressure switch wired. Can anyone explain why the digital i/o is doing this when the robot is disabled, and what we can do to fix it?

Joe Ross
12-11-2010, 11:52 AM
Per section 3.4.3 of the control system manual, the digitial IO pins have a 10k pullup to 5v.

The easiest way to solve this would be to run the spike from a relay port as intended. What is the reason you're trying to run it from a digital output?

If you're just trying to show that you can control a digital output, what about using an LED?

EricVanWyk
12-11-2010, 01:36 PM
Your configuration is illegal* and would not pass inspection. You may only control spike relays using the designated relay ports.






* I know I'm supposed to give the standard "previous rules don't apply to future years, but trust me on this one.

joek
12-13-2010, 05:54 PM
Your configuration is illegal* and would not pass inspection. You may only control spike relays using the designated relay ports.






* I know I'm supposed to give the standard "previous rules don't apply to future years, but trust me on this one.

i can't imaging the rules for that changing anyways