PDA

View Full Version : Rookie Team Tips!

libinator
12-14-2010, 04:03 PM
Hey everyone!

I'm a student of Grand Haven High School, and we finally got a team officially together! :yikes: I would greatly appreciate it if you guys would give us any tips to make our first year a success!

EricH
12-14-2010, 04:13 PM
1) Find a mentor team, if you haven't yet.
2) Read the Manual, as soon as it is released (you can start now, even--some sections are already released). There are NO unimportant sections, just sections that you don't need as often.
3) Regarding 2), pay careful attention to size/weight limits. Build 1" smaller than the size, and budget weight carefully to avoid the dreaded "We're 20 lbs over!" at the event.
4) Team Handbook and Team Business Plan. Between the two, they can save you a lot of trouble later and make life a whole lot easier. Also consider putting a Chairman's Award submission together--you can't submit it electronically, and you aren't eligible to win the award, but it does help with Rookie All-Star and future Chairman's submissions. If you have a NASA Grant, I believe that having one of those submissions is also a requirement for that.

JaneYoung
12-14-2010, 04:30 PM
A thread discussion (http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=87898) with a member of another rookie team started in CD a couple of days ago and it is providing some great tips, suggestions, advice, and helpful links. Take some time to read it and look through the links, esp. the FIRST website and NEMO. Also, take time to look through the different fora in ChiefDelphi. You can do searches by using key words that will lead you to topics such as this and others that you are interested in. Welcome!

Jane

JosephBurns35
12-14-2010, 04:42 PM