PDA

View Full Version : Animation Challenge toolkit?


Dr.strangelove
01-11-2011, 11:24 PM
In the PDF for the Excellence in Design it says that you will be provide with a rig of the iiko character but i can find it any wear. it says that it is in the Animation Challenge toolkit but i cant find this any wear. can any one help me with this?
plz and thank you.

MrPowers399
01-12-2011, 12:44 AM
I believe it will be available for download on students.autodesk.com later but it's not up yet.

I think part of this year's game is to see how patient the animation kids are hahahaha

Dr.strangelove
01-12-2011, 03:39 PM
thanks for the help, and ya my patience is going fast i don't know how much i have left, i spent about a hour trying to find this.

waialua359
01-12-2011, 04:15 PM
Use spellcheck before you post.:mad:

Corn Flake
01-14-2011, 06:15 PM
Has anyone found this yet? I'm getting impatient since it says it will be posted by the 10th and it is currently the 14th.....

Dr.strangelove
01-14-2011, 09:42 PM
ya i lost all of my patience. so we just made our own alien.

Eagleeyedan
01-15-2011, 02:46 PM
So does anyone know where it is?

Dan 1038
01-15-2011, 03:45 PM
Check the "where's the iiko" thread, the link is there... it was released Wed I think...

Dr.strangelove
01-17-2011, 03:18 PM
cool thank you for the help.

Eagleeyedan
01-17-2011, 09:40 PM
:p Check the "where's the iiko" thread, the link is there... it was released Wed I think...

Thanks. I got it. He's quite cute :P

Eagleeyedan
01-20-2011, 07:21 PM
How do you scale the iiko? It just messes him up. We need to make some adult and children iikos. Thanks!

zjagoda
01-24-2011, 06:33 PM
you just select the skeleton and if it is Autodesk Maya, you use the "W" key.
Hope that works.

zjagoda
01-24-2011, 06:36 PM
is anyone having the problem that when they save their iiko project and resume it later, it is completly white?
It is happening to me a lot for some reason.
And is there a way to just paste it's skin on?

kslatin
01-24-2011, 06:43 PM
hey, you guys have talked about using it in maya a tiny bit but I can't figure out how to open it up in maya. it's a 3ds max file so i was going to open it in 3ds max and convert it to maya but that didn't even work. it gave me some "CAT.dlc" error and I couldn't even open it in max. where can I get the download file for maya?

zjagoda
01-25-2011, 01:04 AM
you don't need to download it in any Maya form.
just go to import and select the rig and it will import.
though there are some problems and it doesn't work in 3ds max or 3ds which is not good.
hope this helps.

kslatin
01-25-2011, 02:08 PM
i downloaded it from here (http://students.autodesk.com/?nd=frc2011_animation) and it gave me a folder containing folders named; Archives, autoback, downloads, export, express, import, materiallibraries, previews, proxies, renderoutput, renderpresets, sceneassets, scenes, and vpost. There was also a file in this folder titled IkoRig_MaxProject.mxp. I was assuming that this was the rig but when I tried importing it into maya i got a message saying, "unrecognized file type". What do i do now? i have a mac so i can only use maya. Thanks.

zjagoda
01-26-2011, 05:54 PM
it is under export

kslatin
01-26-2011, 06:06 PM
In that folder there is another folder called IkoExport_Pose.fbm and a file called IkoExport_Pose.FBX. the file isn't compatible with maya and all that's in the folder is two jpgegs. I don't think that's the right folder.

zjagoda
01-26-2011, 06:20 PM
no. it is.
i have been working with it for a while now.
go to maya, open it, import it through the folder. it will say there are some problems but dont pay attention to it

kslatin
01-26-2011, 06:33 PM
i can't. when I try to open it in maya it gives me a message saying "unrecognized file type"

zjagoda
01-26-2011, 06:41 PM
i'm sorry but i can't help anymore since i haven't expirenced this problem before

kslatin
01-26-2011, 06:50 PM
can nobody else help me with this?

mangagirl41
02-06-2011, 09:29 AM
There should be a file type for 3ds max and another for Maya they both should work

suzumebachi
02-09-2011, 05:46 PM
For some reason I can't animate the rigged Iiko in 3ds max- it won't keyframe when you edit the pose, nor will it resize. Any advice? :/ PS- Don't have/know how to use Maya :/

Ultramadscienti
02-12-2011, 04:52 PM
This is probably too late to help, but you have to go to the motion tab and create either a walk motion layer or an absolute motion layer, and then keyframe. In 3ds at least. We refuse to use Maya...

kslatin
02-13-2011, 04:30 PM
Hey,

Now that they updated the page and added a maya version I have been working on it but I have still been having some issues. It has to do with the skin weighting in maya. It seems that when I paint skin weights it tends to warp the actual skin a bit. Some examples are attached.

The first picture is when I have the skin weighted.
The second is when I removed the weighting.

I know that it doesn't look like much at the moment but when I am finished with all of the weighting on the model it looks very sloppy and deformed. Please help me out here. Thank you.

kslatin
02-14-2011, 05:55 PM
Hey, also, because I am relatively new to maya i could also use some help with another problem that I am having. Before when I would hold down the right mouse button on an object I would get the choices: Object Mode, Vertex Mode, Face Mode, etc. Now when I right click it says: Isoparm, Object Mode, Hull, Surface UV, Surface point, Surface Patch, and Control Vertex. How do I change it back?