PDA

View Full Version : netbook has no labview


mike1010100
01-20-2011, 02:30 PM
so we have come across the problem that the 2010 netbook, even reimaged does not have labview installed. we have tried several of the anwsers from this forum but they have not worked. we have now found that we cannot reimage anymore. even with the image flash drive in original config it does not seem to want to reimage. anyone succesfully get labview on the netbook?

thanks

-FIRST team 1307

mike1010100
01-20-2011, 02:59 PM
UPDATE: I have tried to repartition the free space with Linux but it is shooting errors at us. also we tried the classmate update and new update, with changing the file extentions and without doing that. In total, about 15-20 boots with no success the exact error it is spitting out at us is
"The device is not ready
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
the system cannot find the drive enabled
' CANNOT ' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
' AUTOINSTALL.CMD ' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file."
That is the error word for word, me and my co-programmer are at a loss for what to try, anyone have a solution?

-Newman

JamesBrown
01-20-2011, 02:59 PM
so we have come across the problem that the 2010 netbook, even reimaged does not have labview installed. we have tried several of the anwsers from this forum but they have not worked. we have now found that we cannot reimage anymore. even with the image flash drive in original config it does not seem to want to reimage. anyone succesfully get labview on the netbook?

thanks

-FIRST team 1307

Assuming you have a Labview DVD try ripping it to an ISO on a computer with a DVD drive, then download a virtual drive to the netbook and mount the ISO, you should be able to install LV like you would if you had a DVD drive on the netbook.

Edit:
The above would have worked when you could still boot.

Looks like you posted at the same time as I did. I don't know why you were trying to partition and load Linux but it sounds like you corrupted something in the process. I am not sure what to tell you if you cant boot, try formating the hard drive and reimaging.

mike1010100
01-20-2011, 03:10 PM
It boots fine, so nothing in windows is corrupted, we get that error when trying to re-image the netbook, update, or default re-image.
1. but we don't have enough space to install labview due to the recovery partition, thus the involvement of linux.
2. Either way, Even with the plain re imaging device (first thing we did was back it up) it wont boot and it gets that error

Alan Anderson
01-20-2011, 03:22 PM
1. but we don't have enough space to install labview due to the recovery partition, thus the involvement of linux.

Linux is not mentioned anywhere in the instructions for recovering the space used by that partition. You don't seem to know about the Classmate Drive Space Recovery Procedure (http://www.usfirst.org/uploadedFiles/Robotics_Programs/FRC/Game_and_Season__Info/2011_Assets/Kit_of_Parts/Classmate%20drive%20space%20recovery%20procedure.p df). Give it a try.

2. Either way, Even with the plain re imaging device (first thing we did was back it up) it wont boot and it gets that error

Unless you did a low-level bit-for-bit copy of the USB memory stick, you won't have created a bootable device. Use the original, not a backup.

mike1010100
01-20-2011, 03:27 PM
followed everything word for word so far wiht the recovery instructions so far, I have scoured Delphi and the FIRST website, but to no avail, and I have tried what you are suggesting several times

JamesBrown
01-20-2011, 03:33 PM
followed everything word for word so far wiht the recovery instructions so far, I have scoured Delphi and the FIRST website, but to no avail, and I have tried what you are suggesting several times

Just to confirm, which files did you rename?

The only part of those directions that seem like they could be confusing is the renaming of files. Make sure you rename the files already on the key (the old files) then download and add the new ones.

I have confirmed with a couple of friends on non-rookie teams that this works.

dekohn
01-20-2011, 03:44 PM
I was able to install Labview on the 2010 Classmate.

Read:

http://memphisfirstteams.org/?p=334

For all the details.

Hope this helps

Dan Kohn
University of Memphis
Mentor Memphis City Schools

mike1010100
01-22-2011, 08:43 AM
SOLUTION FOUND thanks for the help!

-Newman