PDA

View Full Version : DAP 1522 Access point IP address problems


pedro696
02-01-2011, 05:26 PM
Our DAP 1522 fails to set the Network Settings. When we try to assign the Access point IP address in the network settings tab, the router never saves what we input. We can set the subnet mask and the default gateway, but as soon as we change the Access point IP address it goes into an endless saving: the settings are saving and taking effect, please wait......................... what can we do???:)

billbo911
02-01-2011, 05:30 PM
Our DAP 1522 fails to set the Network Settings. When we try to assign the Access point IP address in the network settings tab, the router never saves what we input. We can set the subnet mask and the default gateway, but as soon as we change the Access point IP address it goes into an endless saving: the settings are saving and taking effect, please wait......................... what can we do???:)

You might want to try a re-flash of the firmware. The instructions and code are available here (http://www.usfirst.org/roboticsprograms/frc/content.aspx?id=18530). They are found near the bottom of the control system section on that page.

pedro696
02-01-2011, 05:58 PM
You might want to try a re-flash of the firmware. The instructions and code are available here (http://www.usfirst.org/roboticsprograms/frc/content.aspx?id=18530). They are found near the bottom of the control system section on that page.

Thank you, I'll try that and post back:)

pedro696
02-01-2011, 06:04 PM
Hmm, by re-flashing you mean the emergency web server instructions?

Alan Anderson
02-01-2011, 06:11 PM
...as soon as we change the Access point IP address it goes into an endless saving: the settings are saving and taking effect, please wait......................... what can we do???:)

As soon as you change the IP address, the Access Point is understandably now at a different address. Your computer is still looking at the address that the Access Point had before. A few seconds after you get the "saving" message, you're done.

To verify that everything worked properly, reset the IP address of your computer to one that is compatible with the new address of the DAP (e.g. 10.25.64.6) and put the new address in your browser.

billbo911
02-01-2011, 06:12 PM
Hmm, by re-flashing you mean the emergency web server instructions?

Yes. Following those instructions will re-flash the firmware.
The "Emergency Web Server" is just a symptom of an issue that only seems to be resolved by flashing the firmware.

pedro696
02-01-2011, 08:35 PM
Thanks guys, I'll try it out now... again haha, I just got home... Peace and quiet

pedro696
02-01-2011, 09:34 PM
Thanks, I fixed the problem. I set the ip address of the computer to the default gateway address that I'd set up during the setup and I wrote in internet explorer the address that I placed as the Access point IP address.

pedro696
02-01-2011, 09:37 PM
Alan's post is the correct one. I did not have to flash it billbo. Thank you guys :):D