PDA

View Full Version : Idea for a Drive Team Award?

legogeek24
03-31-2011, 05:31 PM
Here's a thought: what if there was a regional award for the best drive team/robot combination? It could include mention of exceptional driver skills, effective utilization of in-match strategy, skillful control over the robot, excellent teamwork between the drive team, etc. It seems to me that many teams nowadays put driver practice as a low priority, and many robots are very under-performing because of lack of driver skill. A Drive Team award could increase motivation for these aspects, as well as reward those teams who find an excellent combination of man and machine during the match.

...I have been a driver since I was a freshman, soooo I may be a little biased, but what do you think?

EricLeifermann
03-31-2011, 05:56 PM
There use to be an incredible play award that they gave out. It was kind of what you are talking about. I don't know why they got rid of it, but I also don't see the need for it to return, enough awards are given out that another one doesn't need to be added to the line up.

penguinfrk
03-31-2011, 06:07 PM
It seems to me that many teams nowadays put driver practice as a low priority, and many robots are very under-performing because of lack of driver skill.

I think any team that puts driving practice as a low priority is underestimating the importance of driver skill in a match and asking for losses...

More accurately, I'd say many teams would like to get more driver practice, but don't get a chance to.

rsisk
03-31-2011, 06:33 PM
That certainly would be a tough award to judge. The Match Observers are only out for part of the day, so they would miss a lot of play. Also awards have to be complete by around 2-3PM to be ready for the award ceremony, so once again, great plays could be missed.

A peer selected award might work, but even then a lot of plays would be missed. Maybe the FTA or Refs could select candidates, or even the winner.