PDA

View Full Version : I've been out of FIRST for a while and decided I want to mentor again.

Michael Hill
08-22-2011, 05:36 PM
Starting in 2004, I was on the TechnoKats in high school then mentored team 1646 in 2007 while I was a freshman at Purdue. That was my last involvement with FIRST. I moved out of state to Dayton, OH and got into contact with a mentor of one of the teams here. This kind of got me thinking...I've been out of it for years, what has changed? Now normally, I would look through the CD forums for posts, but four years is A LOT of time (and a lot of changes that could be made). Last I heard, The Black Eyed Peas somehow got involved...what's that about?

Please help me catch up. Last I knew, robots were being programmed in C...and I KNOW that's changed.

Andrew Lawrence
08-22-2011, 05:40 PM
Please help me catch up. Last I knew, robots were being programmed in C...and I KNOW that's changed.

What can YOU do with Labview?

Michael Hill
08-22-2011, 05:50 PM
What can YOU do with Labview?

When I was a co-op with the Air Force Research Laboratory, I designed and "wrote" the underlying software for the Turbine Research Facility's data acquisition system in LabVIEW...It's a mixed blessing. It's fast to create software, but executes very slowly. It does make troubleshooting a breeze though.

Oh...and I hate National Instruments tech support :D

davidthefat
08-22-2011, 06:04 PM
When I was a co-op with the Air Force Research Laboratory, I designed and "wrote" the underlying software for the Turbine Research Facility's data acquisition system in LabVIEW...It's a mixed blessing. It's fast to create software, but executes very slowly. It does make troubleshooting a breeze though.

Oh...and I hate National Instruments tech support :D