OCCRA
Go to Post First check for any bind in the transmissions, especially chain. Next, check to see if the motors are O.K. Use code as a last resort. - Paul Copioli [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming > NI LabVIEW
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2009, 07:06 PM
morg102 morg102 is offline
1141 Programer
AKA: Morgan S
FRC #1141 (Mega Watts)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Peterbrough
Posts: 6
morg102 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

I have found many post's but no answers on this subject.
Please dont give me outside links or links to other topics here
I would just like to know how to spesifiy witch button on the joystick i am useing.

Thanks,
1141
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2009, 07:27 PM
DRH2o's Avatar
DRH2o DRH2o is offline
Registered User
AKA: Dan Waters
FRC #1598 (Team Talon)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Danville, VA
Posts: 135
DRH2o is a glorious beacon of lightDRH2o is a glorious beacon of lightDRH2o is a glorious beacon of lightDRH2o is a glorious beacon of lightDRH2o is a glorious beacon of lightDRH2o is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

Right click on the "Buttons" cluster -- Go to the "Cluster Pallette -- Click unbundle -- wire that to the Button out -- wire to the button you want.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2009, 07:41 PM
TotalChaos's Avatar
TotalChaos TotalChaos is offline
Registered User
AKA: Austin
FRC #2837 (Freebird Robotics)
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 112
TotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to TotalChaos Send a message via Skype™ to TotalChaos
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

Here's a bit more of a visual in case you're using the basic framework (Pretty much what DHR2o said):

Go to your palette and go to "WPI Robotics Library" > "DriverStation" > "Joystick" and add a "Get.vi" .. hook it up to the connector shown below:


Go to your palette and go to "Programming" > "Cluster, Class & Variant" and add an "Unbundle by name". Hook it up to the pink output of the get VI as shown below:



Now from the cluster outputs you have access to all of the buttons.


Good luck!

- Austin
__________________
The 39th Aero Squadron - Team 39! (Visit our website!)
Team Role: 3 Years as Driver - College Student/Mentor!


Freebird Robotics - On a 1 year hiatus! (Visit our website!)
Arizona 2009: Semifinalists! (69 and 498), Delphi "Driving Tomorrow's Technology" Award
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2009, 11:08 PM
morg102 morg102 is offline
1141 Programer
AKA: Morgan S
FRC #1141 (Mega Watts)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Peterbrough
Posts: 6
morg102 is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

Thanks, me and the other programer found a salution but this is alot better.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-19-2009, 02:55 PM
CPUGenuis's Avatar
CPUGenuis CPUGenuis is offline
Registered User
AKA: Matthew Marshall
FRC #1208 (Metool Brigade)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 9
CPUGenuis is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

wait, what's the difference between using get and get raw for the buttons?
__________________
it's electrical's fault. end of story.
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-19-2009, 03:14 PM
TotalChaos's Avatar
TotalChaos TotalChaos is offline
Registered User
AKA: Austin
FRC #2837 (Freebird Robotics)
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 112
TotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to TotalChaos Send a message via Skype™ to TotalChaos
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

As far as the buttons go, nothing. The only difference I know of is the joystick axis output ranges from like -30000 something to +30000 something in increments of 256 or 512 or something around there...

- Austin
__________________
The 39th Aero Squadron - Team 39! (Visit our website!)
Team Role: 3 Years as Driver - College Student/Mentor!


Freebird Robotics - On a 1 year hiatus! (Visit our website!)
Arizona 2009: Semifinalists! (69 and 498), Delphi "Driving Tomorrow's Technology" Award
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-19-2009, 03:29 PM
CPUGenuis's Avatar
CPUGenuis CPUGenuis is offline
Registered User
AKA: Matthew Marshall
FRC #1208 (Metool Brigade)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 9
CPUGenuis is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

lol, k. thanks.
__________________
it's electrical's fault. end of story.
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-30-2009, 04:16 PM
GunfighterJ's Avatar
GunfighterJ GunfighterJ is offline
Registered User
AKA: Joseph
FRC #2450 (RaiderBots)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 34
GunfighterJ is an unknown quantity at this point
Post Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalChaos View Post
As far as the buttons go, nothing. The only difference I know of is the joystick axis output ranges from like -30000 something to +30000 something in increments of 256 or 512 or something around there...

- Austin
The joystick ranges from -1 to 0 to 1. If it is scaled to 127 (which it is set to by default) then the joystick ranges from -127 to 0 to 127. Which gives you a more finer control over a motor.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-30-2009, 04:19 PM
TotalChaos's Avatar
TotalChaos TotalChaos is offline
Registered User
AKA: Austin
FRC #2837 (Freebird Robotics)
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 112
TotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud ofTotalChaos has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to TotalChaos Send a message via Skype™ to TotalChaos
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

Quote:
Originally Posted by GunfighterJ View Post
The joystick ranges from -1 to 0 to 1. If it is scaled to 127 (which it is set to by default) then the joystick ranges from -127 to 0 to 127. Which gives you a more finer control over a motor.
Ah, that's right... When I wrote that I was thinking about the preseason when we had a joystick hooked up to the computer directly and got input through the computer... My bad.

- Austin
__________________
The 39th Aero Squadron - Team 39! (Visit our website!)
Team Role: 3 Years as Driver - College Student/Mentor!


Freebird Robotics - On a 1 year hiatus! (Visit our website!)
Arizona 2009: Semifinalists! (69 and 498), Delphi "Driving Tomorrow's Technology" Award
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-08-2009, 11:53 AM
mcristina444 mcristina444 is offline
Registered User
FRC #2078 (Robotic Ooze)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Covington, LA
Posts: 27
mcristina444 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

what is the joystick axis output?? it is really -1 to 1??? or is it 0 to 256 or -158 to 158
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-08-2009, 12:04 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,952
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

-1 to 1. If you have a running system, don't forget that in LV you can open the panel and watch the values as they flow through. Many times that is a good way to understand the values being sent.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-02-2010, 02:35 PM
Mohit Mohit is offline
Registered User
FRC #3053
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Yrok
Posts: 6
Mohit is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Buttons on a Attack 3 Joystick useing LABView

I want to program in a way that when i press the trigger the motor works at half speed...
I don't know how to do it.. I did a little bit of the steps that were mentioned above and it really didn't help. So can you tell me how to do it??
If you can provide pictures with that I would really appreciate..
Thank you..
Mohit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you program joystick buttons in LabVIEW? darkpheonix NI LabVIEW 10 04-13-2014 09:20 AM
Joystick buttons access byteit101 WindRiver C++ 3 01-14-2009 06:38 PM
buttons in LabView Pneumaticsman NI LabVIEW 4 01-12-2009 05:14 PM
Buttons to Pins on Joystick yarb65 Electrical 1 08-24-2007 07:39 PM
Assigning Joystick buttons.... archiver 2001 5 06-23-2002 11:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi