OCCRA
Go to Post Interestingly enough, I saw Shaun open his backpack for a moment during the Newton Alliance selection.... 4 Hours later Team 25 was on Einstein... - thefro526 [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Motors
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 04-16-2012, 01:23 AM
NIhunter's Avatar
NIhunter NIhunter is offline
Registered User
AKA: Nicolas Hunter
FRC #2709 (Iron M.A.W.)
Team Role: Driver
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2
NIhunter is an unknown quantity at this point
CIM limited to one direction

We are using 4 CIM motors for a 8 inch mecanum drive. The robot goes forward normally and can strafe in one direction flawlessly. The problem occurs while moving backwards. As 2 CIM motors do not turn the other direction. We are using Toughbox Nano gearboxes if that helps. The jaguars blink red but the wheels refuse to turn. We were demonstrating the robot when we noticed the problem. So we did not have much time to troubleshoot. I will swap the pwm's and check the voltage going to the motors shortly. I was Just wondering if anybody had a problem like this and if they found a solution.
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 04-16-2012, 02:27 AM
timytamy's Avatar
timytamy timytamy is offline
Registered User
AKA: Tim
FRC #3132 (The Thunder Down Under)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 190
timytamy is a name known to alltimytamy is a name known to alltimytamy is a name known to alltimytamy is a name known to alltimytamy is a name known to alltimytamy is a name known to all
Re: CIM limited to one direction

I suspect that when you mounted the CIMS, they somehow managed to be a few degrees out, this can cause a gearbox to seize and would explain your problems.

I'd dismount the CIMS from the tough boxes, test them, and remount. This will tell you if it's a problem localised to the CIMS, or your drive train.
__________________
Tim W
FIRST Team 3132 - The Thunder Down Under
Sydney, Australia
Website | Facebook | Youtube
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 04-16-2012, 06:00 AM
Chris_Elston's Avatar
Chris_Elston Chris_Elston is offline
Controls Engineer
AKA: chakorules
None #1501 (Team THRUST)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: Huntington, Indiana
Posts: 662
Chris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond reputeChris_Elston has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Chris_Elston Send a message via Yahoo to Chris_Elston
Re: CIM limited to one direction

Read this thread:

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/sh...44&postcount=3

See if that's your issue.
__________________
Team T.H.R.U.S.T. 1501
Download all of our past robot's source code here:Repository

Favorite CD quote:
"That can't be their 'bot. not nearly enough (if any) rivets to be a 1501 machine." ~RogerR: Team #1369
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 04-16-2012, 08:14 AM
Unsung FIRST Hero
Al Skierkiewicz Al Skierkiewicz is offline
Broadcast Eng/Chief Robot Inspector
AKA: Big Al
FRC #0111 (WildStang)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 10,031
Al Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: CIM limited to one direction

NI,
The Jaguars do have a failure mode where they only operate in one direction. The first check is to lift the robot and operate the joysticks to see if it works.
Al
__________________
Good Luck All. Learn something new, everyday!
Al
WB9UVJ
www.wildstang.org
________________________
All is better now, NOS parts are working fine. Why does this year's game remind me of Violet in Willie Wonka? Hmmmm, I see blueberries!
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 04-16-2012, 09:27 AM
silverD's Avatar
silverD silverD is offline
Build Mentor
AKA: Nate
FRC #2052 (KnightKrawler)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: New Brighton, MN
Posts: 53
silverD is a jewel in the roughsilverD is a jewel in the roughsilverD is a jewel in the roughsilverD is a jewel in the rough
Re: CIM limited to one direction

Make sure the limit switch jumpers are seated properly. If the jumpers are not shorting the pins, the jag will not allow the motor to spin in the direction of the open circuit.
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 04-16-2012, 09:55 AM
Brian Selle's Avatar
Brian Selle Brian Selle is offline
Mentor
FRC #3310 (Black Hawk Robotics)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 141
Brian Selle has a spectacular aura aboutBrian Selle has a spectacular aura about
Re: CIM limited to one direction

We have a Jaguar that only commands voltage in one direction. I tried re-flashing it but it didn't help. Is there a way to reset it?
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-16-2012, 07:48 AM
greasemonkey's Avatar
greasemonkey greasemonkey is offline
Truss me I'm a Doctor
AKA: Fred Parker, fredword, fredwardo, phred, frederick
FRC #3467 (windham windups)
Team Role: Mechanical
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: windham, NH
Posts: 26
greasemonkey is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: CIM limited to one direction

this happened to us this year for us the problem was a couple of bad jaguars have you tried changing them out? if it is not that then it ma be that your cims are bad or mounted incorrectly.

Last edited by greasemonkey : 05-16-2012 at 07:51 AM.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi