OCCRA
Go to Post Maybe Dean Kamen can appear in Levi's advertising? - David Brinza [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming > NI LabVIEW
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-05-2010, 07:32 PM
Team1908 Team1908 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1908
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eastville, VA
Posts: 17
Team1908 is an unknown quantity at this point
Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Our team has been having trouble trying to set up the camera so that it returns images to the driver station. This is what we have done so far (in no particular order):

-Installed the driver station update (correctly, so that the compass indicator is showing)
-Used the Axis Camera Setup program from Labview to configure the camera
-Re-imaged the cRIO for Labview using image v10 and built and deployed code to the cRIO (all vision code is still as it was from the default code)
-Ensured that our camera is functional by viewing the live feed through an internet browser on our computer

Assuming that the default code made provisions for sending images to the driver station, the only two things that I can think of are wrong are:

-Requiring the Labview update
-Using the newer v19 cRIO image

The main questions we would like answered are:

-Would not doing either of those things prevent the camera from sending data to the driver station?
-Could anything that we haven't done besides those two things prevent the camera from sending data to the driver station?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-05-2010, 08:54 PM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,842
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team1908 View Post
Assuming that the default code made provisions for sending images to the driver station, the only two things that I can think of are wrong are:

-Requiring the Labview update
-Using the newer v19 cRIO image

The main questions we would like answered are:

-Would not doing either of those things prevent the camera from sending data to the driver station?
Absolutely, you need both of those.
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-05-2010, 09:13 PM
Team1908 Team1908 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1908
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eastville, VA
Posts: 17
Team1908 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Okay, we'll run both of those and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-17-2010, 10:35 PM
Team1908 Team1908 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1908
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eastville, VA
Posts: 17
Team1908 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Okay, we have run both of those updates (as well as the updates that were released recently) and re-imaged the cRIO to version 20. We successfully receive images wirelessly now from our robot to our driver station. The only problem is that the added process seems to be lagging our robots operations of all of its other components. Is there any way we can use a delay to slow down how many times it gets images so that our robot will function normally?
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-18-2010, 05:39 AM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,927
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Begin lets you configure how the camera operates. What size, compression, and frame rate is it set to? If you lower the frame rate and possibly the others, I think you'll find a good solution.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-18-2010, 05:42 AM
Team1908 Team1908 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1908
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eastville, VA
Posts: 17
Team1908 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg McKaskle View Post
What size, compression, and frame rate is it set to?
We simply kept the default parameters that were given to us in the code. Any code pertaining to the camera was never changed from the default.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-18-2010, 05:46 AM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,927
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

The default code is always looking for the target, in all modes. If you don't take advantage of this, you can turn off the button that enables the vision processing. You can also do this programmatically by turning off the global for different game modes, based on a button, etc.

If you want to process for targets, it definitely takes CPU, but shouldn't really affect the way the robot drives. Have you moved the vision code into teleop or something?

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-18-2010, 06:09 AM
Team1908 Team1908 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1908
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eastville, VA
Posts: 17
Team1908 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg McKaskle View Post
The default code is always looking for the target, in all modes. If you don't take advantage of this, you can turn off the button that enables the vision processing.

Have you moved the vision code into teleop or something?

Greg McKaskle
We aren't taking advantage of the code for finding the target, but we're not quite sure how to disable vision processing.

And no, we did not move the vision code into teleop. The vision code in our project is exactly identical to the vision code in the default project. None of our programmers dared to click on them.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-18-2010, 06:15 AM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,927
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Just checking about the location.

The Vision Processing VI contains a loop that either sleeps or gets and processes an image. That decision is made based on a global. If you set that global you can control the vision processing. The place the global is currently set is in Robot Main.

Note this processing is independent of the vision back to the PC. There is a similar button beneath the dashboard that will enable and disable the dashboard images. Since those are not processed by the cRIO, the overhead to retransmit is really small by comparison.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-18-2010, 06:23 AM
Team1908 Team1908 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1908
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eastville, VA
Posts: 17
Team1908 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg McKaskle View Post
The Vision Processing VI contains a loop that either sleeps or gets and processes an image. That decision is made based on a global. If you set that global you can control the vision processing. The place the global is currently set is in Robot Main.

Note this processing is independent of the vision back to the PC. There is a similar button beneath the dashboard that will enable and disable the dashboard images. Since those are not processed by the cRIO, the overhead to retransmit is really small by comparison.
That's excellent! We're glad that this will (hopefully) de-lag communications between the robot and the driver station without attempting to mess too much with the camera settings. We'll try it this afternoon and see how it works.
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-18-2010, 02:38 PM
Team1908 Team1908 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1908
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eastville, VA
Posts: 17
Team1908 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Issues (we have tried practically everything!)

We set the global for enabling the vision processing to false using a constant, and now the lag is gone. Thank you very much for your assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1726 - practically done! TheOtherGuy Robot Showcase 10 02-19-2008 03:14 PM
Camera Oversaturation Issues? 114Klutz Programming 11 04-19-2007 04:47 PM
Camera Issues RedOctober45 Programming 5 02-08-2007 02:59 PM
Camera issues Todd Programming 0 02-16-2005 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi