OCCRA
Go to Post Everyone is wrong! - Chris is me [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Control System
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-12-2012, 12:34 PM
adf0221 adf0221 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1517 (Lumberjacks)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: Bow NH
Posts: 24
adf0221 is an unknown quantity at this point
Robot Loses Connection

We are having very bad issues with our robot maintaining connection to the DriverStation when we are driving without a tether. The robot will initially connect to the radio fine but after a short time the robot will become jerky when controlling and the green lights on the driver station will flash red and then come back green. When it comes back on a message about the watchdog, which is not in our program at all, will flash on the screen before reconnecting to the radio and regaining control. We are struggling to solve this issue and cannot practice driving freely and shooting until we can find a solution. Any help is desperately needed. Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-12-2012, 12:40 PM
Keyreaper's Avatar
Keyreaper Keyreaper is offline
Keyreaper
AKA: Cyrus Duong
FRC #1710 (Revolution Ravonics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: Olathe
Posts: 140
Keyreaper is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to Keyreaper
Re: Robot Loses Connection

I suggest looking at your ethernet cables that connect your cRIO to the router/bridge/radio... Our team found out we had the same issue of it shaking loose while driving.
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-12-2012, 02:19 PM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Itinerant Programmer
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,397
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Loses Connection

Are there other wireless networks operating in your building?
They could be interfering with your DLink. You can try different channels/bands to reduce contention.
__________________
Deduction is limited by knowledge, and knowledge is limited by preconceptions
358 Beta notes & results
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2012, 10:08 AM
BlacksmithWoods's Avatar
BlacksmithWoods BlacksmithWoods is offline
Mechanics / Design / Electronics
AKA: Brendan Woods
FRC #0806 (The Brooklyn Blacksmiths)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 67
BlacksmithWoods is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to BlacksmithWoods
Re: Robot Loses Connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by adf0221 View Post
We are having very bad issues with our robot maintaining connection to the DriverStation when we are driving without a tether. The robot will initially connect to the radio fine but after a short time the robot will become jerky when controlling and the green lights on the driver station will flash red and then come back green. When it comes back on a message about the watchdog, which is not in our program at all, will flash on the screen before reconnecting to the radio and regaining control. We are struggling to solve this issue and cannot practice driving freely and shooting until we can find a solution. Any help is desperately needed. Thanks in advance
Yeah, my team is having the same exact problem. We have yet to find a solution.
__________________
2002 - Present FRC (806)

Keeping It Stupidly Simple since 2002
"You are done with designing something, not when there's nothing more to add, but when there's nothing left to remove." - EricH
NYC FRC STLA (2011- 2014) Practice Field / Alumni Relations
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2012, 10:39 AM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,977
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Loses Connection

The DS has a Charts tab which gives you two communications feedback values -- round trip time in milliseconds and lost packets. Can you summarize the plots or post a screenshot?

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2012, 12:10 PM
BlacksmithWoods's Avatar
BlacksmithWoods BlacksmithWoods is offline
Mechanics / Design / Electronics
AKA: Brendan Woods
FRC #0806 (The Brooklyn Blacksmiths)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 67
BlacksmithWoods is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to BlacksmithWoods
Re: Robot Loses Connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg McKaskle View Post
The DS has a Charts tab which gives you two communications feedback values -- round trip time in milliseconds and lost packets. Can you summarize the plots or post a screenshot?

Greg McKaskle
Okay, we are working on getting the screenshots now. However, we also have another problem. On the DS on the Diagnostics tab we are getting a green light for joystick 1 when no USB Joystick is plugged in. In addition to that when the robot is off the green lights for DS Radio and Bridge are blinking on and off. Any suggestions?
__________________
2002 - Present FRC (806)

Keeping It Stupidly Simple since 2002
"You are done with designing something, not when there's nothing more to add, but when there's nothing left to remove." - EricH
NYC FRC STLA (2011- 2014) Practice Field / Alumni Relations
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2012, 12:28 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,977
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Loses Connection

The diagnostics page does a few different things. It pings the ethernet devices and shows the results, and it shows whether it was able to identify and open a connection to a USB HID joystick or gamepad device.

My explanation for the blinking ping results is that another device not he network has the same IP address. You may be able to do a reverse DNS lookup and determine the other device. Or perhaps you should simplify the network to get rid of the cross-talk. Our office at work is also a 10.xx.yy.zz network, so this happens there. You generally fix this by turning off or disabling all of the LANs and WANs on the PC until only the one connected to the robot is enabled.

I don't really have an explanation for the joystick except that the PC drivers say that there is. Perhaps if you open up the control panel and go to the joystick section and see if it agrees. I have seen BT or wireless joystick adapters that "reserve" connections to devices that they own. I was a BT mouse set that claimed to be a mouse, keyboard and joystick all the time just in case you owned the other devices and turned them on.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2012, 12:40 PM
RufflesRidge RufflesRidge is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 692
RufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud ofRufflesRidge has much to be proud of
Re: Robot Loses Connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg McKaskle View Post
My explanation for the blinking ping results is that another device not he network has the same IP address.
Greg, I don't think this is the case. In my experience these lights always flash green when the Diagnostics tab is left open, as long as the DS is connected to a network. I haven't tried Wiresharking to compare the green flash to the actual pings, but I would guess based on the frequency that the flash occurs each time the DS re-pings the devices.

BlacksmithWoods, I would recommend ignoring the DS radio and Birdge lights blinking. I don't think that is related to your actual issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2012, 12:55 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,977
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Loses Connection

In my experience, they shouldn't flash. The exact command line being executed to ping is ...

ping -n 1 -w 150

When the Diagnostics panel is open, the pings are run on each device one after the other once a second and the display is updated after all of them complete. They shouldn't flash unless some of the pings timeout or fail. Perhaps there are other reasons for the ping failure, but in our office, every time I've seen it, it was due to conflicting IPs.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi