OCCRA
Go to Post I can see the 2013 Kickoff broadcast now: "Hello Teams. Welcome back. Gracious Professionalism. Here's some homework. Here's the animation. Here's what the actual field looks like. RTFM. Peace." - sanddrag [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Technical Discussion
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-07-2003, 07:14 PM
O AntiGravity O O AntiGravity O is offline
Registered User
#0570
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 1
O AntiGravity O is an unknown quantity at this point
40 amps a must?

Sorry its our team's first time posting, but we've been keeping up on all thats been going on here. Anyway, we're dangerously overweight and looking to shed any pounds in any way possible. So do we have to use the board with the 40 amp fuses for the drill motors, or could we just stick with the 30 amps which have been running fine for us?
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-07-2003, 07:18 PM
rust710's Avatar
rust710 rust710 is offline
Registered User
#0862 (Lightning Robotics)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 103
rust710 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to rust710
You are allowed to use the 30 amp fuse for drill motors but I wouldn't recomend it. The drill motors work there best at 60 amps and tend to blow breakers. I don't think you will be saving that much wait by removing the 40 amp panel anyway.
__________________
Andrew Radamis
Programmer on 862
info@lightingrobotics.com
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-07-2003, 07:32 PM
MarcusF MarcusF is offline
Registered User
#0157 (Aztechs)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Marlboro MA
Posts: 33
MarcusF is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to MarcusF
40A a MUST

Page 10 of the robot rules says 40A used with drill motor and CIM, so if you want to use ethier you must use the 40A block.
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-07-2003, 07:37 PM
rust710's Avatar
rust710 rust710 is offline
Registered User
#0862 (Lightning Robotics)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 103
rust710 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to rust710
Opps, I missed that. But it sounds weird to me that FIRST will get mad over a breaker too small.
__________________
Andrew Radamis
Programmer on 862
info@lightingrobotics.com
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-08-2003, 03:45 PM
jskene jskene is offline
Registered User
None #0612
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Chantilly Virginia
Posts: 153
jskene is a splendid one to beholdjskene is a splendid one to beholdjskene is a splendid one to beholdjskene is a splendid one to beholdjskene is a splendid one to beholdjskene is a splendid one to beholdjskene is a splendid one to behold
If, as your question suggests, you are looking to save weight by using a 30A breaker rather than a 40A, it would be safer to just drill an extra 1/4" hole in something. That would amount to the same weight loss.

Don't assume that a 30 amp breaker weighs 3/4 of a 40 amp one.
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-08-2003, 03:53 PM
Cory's Avatar
Cory Cory is offline
Registered User
AKA: Cory McBride
FRC #0254 (The Cheesy Poofs)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 6,327
Cory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond reputeCory has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Cory
These drill motors are more powerful, meaning they draw more current, so a 40 amp breakers are for your benefit. You will not experience as many problems tripping breakers, etc.

Cory
__________________
2001-2004: Team 100
2006-Present: Team 254
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-08-2003, 04:02 PM
oneeightytwo oneeightytwo is offline
Registered User
#0011 (M.O.R.T.)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mount Olive, NJ
Posts: 13
oneeightytwo is an unknown quantity at this point
I agree

Our robot has been moving around on the 30 amps and we have popped a breaker or two and we switched to 40 and had no problems!
__________________
There is no impossible.
Impossible has been rewritten
Impossible is now possible.
You Gotta Believe
GO M.O.E. (NOT!!!!!!)
GO M.O.R.T.
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-08-2003, 10:01 PM
galewind's Avatar
galewind galewind is offline
... more like a temperate breeze
AKA: Chris Gregory
FRC #1089 (Team Mercury)
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Hightstown, NJ
Posts: 388
galewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond reputegalewind has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to galewind
we're moving on the cims and we keep popping the 40s at low speeds
__________________
Chris G
Advisor, Team Mercury (1089), Hightstown High School
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-09-2003, 09:07 AM
TNT280Staff's Avatar
TNT280Staff TNT280Staff is offline
Registered User
AKA: Joe Horth
None #0280 ("TnT")
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Taylor, Michihgan
Posts: 44
TNT280Staff is a jewel in the roughTNT280Staff is a jewel in the roughTNT280Staff is a jewel in the roughTNT280Staff is a jewel in the rough
400 1/4" drilled holes in aluminium = 1 lb of dieting
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-09-2003, 12:35 PM
John Bono's Avatar
John Bono John Bono is offline
Registered User
#0990 (We don't have one :cries:)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A-Tech LV, NV
Posts: 111
John Bono is an unknown quantity at this point
Well see, there's your problem--you're only drilling 400 holes. I kid, I kid--and that's how thick of aluminum? We also have some steel, too.
__________________
"Proof is King. Logic is Prime Minister." -Force-Attuned Krokoth
"Any fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius--and a lot of courage--to move in the opposite direction." -Albert Einstein
"Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow." -Samuel Clemens
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-09-2003, 02:28 PM
TNT280Staff's Avatar
TNT280Staff TNT280Staff is offline
Registered User
AKA: Joe Horth
None #0280 ("TnT")
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Taylor, Michihgan
Posts: 44
TNT280Staff is a jewel in the roughTNT280Staff is a jewel in the roughTNT280Staff is a jewel in the roughTNT280Staff is a jewel in the rough
Not sure on the thickness... it was actually something Woody Flowers said 3 or 4 years ago at Kick off in New Hampshire
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-09-2003, 03:28 PM
Justin Stiltner's Avatar
Justin Stiltner Justin Stiltner is offline
The big guy
no team
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 2000
Location: Blacksburg, Va.
Posts: 305
Justin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud ofJustin Stiltner has much to be proud of
Send a message via ICQ to Justin Stiltner Send a message via AIM to Justin Stiltner Send a message via MSN to Justin Stiltner Send a message via Yahoo to Justin Stiltner
1/8" AL 1/2" holes = 300 holes per pound

and yes you may use any breaker you want on the drill motors, however i think you still must use the larger breaker panel, If you are that close on weight you may want to look at some other area in which to reduce weight.
__________________
Justin Stiltner
Lead Robot Inspector, VCU Regional
Unmanned Systems Lab, Virginia Tech
KI4URQ
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-10-2003, 05:24 PM
kevin.li.rit's Avatar
kevin.li.rit kevin.li.rit is offline
Imaginary Friend
AKA: Kevin Li
FRC #0596 (SciClones)
Team Role: Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Posts: 862
kevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant future
Send a message via Yahoo to kevin.li.rit
Go with TNT2 and drill speed hole!
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-12-2003, 04:28 PM
John Bono's Avatar
John Bono John Bono is offline
Registered User
#0990 (We don't have one :cries:)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A-Tech LV, NV
Posts: 111
John Bono is an unknown quantity at this point
Speed holes, eh?
__________________
"Proof is King. Logic is Prime Minister." -Force-Attuned Krokoth
"Any fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius--and a lot of courage--to move in the opposite direction." -Albert Einstein
"Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow." -Samuel Clemens
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2003, 06:04 PM
kevin.li.rit's Avatar
kevin.li.rit kevin.li.rit is offline
Imaginary Friend
AKA: Kevin Li
FRC #0596 (SciClones)
Team Role: Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Posts: 862
kevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant futurekevin.li.rit has a brilliant future
Send a message via Yahoo to kevin.li.rit
Yah, speed holes, you can always use swords to make them
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
picture of 40 amps fuse holder and fuse rcubes85 Technical Discussion 1 02-13-2003 03:03 PM
6 awg wire how much amps? viper Electrical 3 01-20-2003 01:29 PM
Quick release battery connector and 120 amps n[ate]vw Electrical 6 01-18-2003 10:41 PM
What else do we want? archiver 2000 63 06-23-2002 10:19 PM
60 amp Circuit Breaker Info archiver 2001 1 06-23-2002 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi