OCCRA
Go to Post REMEMBER - there ARE things more important than robots... false - Botwoon [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Pneumatics
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 04:56 PM
willross's Avatar
willross willross is offline
Registered User
#1247 (System Failure)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New London, NH
Posts: 8
willross has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Manual override of compressor software control

Is it acceptable for an operator to manually override the software control of the compressor on/off sequence? We would like to be able to have the software automatically turn the compressor on at some low pressure state and kick off at full pressure but we also would like to be able to use a joystick button to turn the compressor on manually rather than waiting for the pressure to drop to that low state.
__________________
Bill Ross
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 05:03 PM
pras870's Avatar
pras870 pras870 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Mike
#0870 (Team Rice)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southold, NY
Posts: 214
pras870 can only hope to improve
Send a message via AIM to pras870
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

I'm somewhat confused by your question. The pressure switch that FIRST supplys us with automatically turns the compressor off when the system reaches 120 psi, but turns it on when it drops below that or reaches 60 (might be off on that #) psi in the system. Possibly if you re-word your question I can give a better answer/explanation.
__________________
'02 SBPLI Rookie of the Year
'03 UTC Johnson & Johnson Award Winners
'03 SBPLI Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers Entrepreneurship Award Winners
'03 SBPLI Regional Winners
'04 SBPLI Xerox Creativity Award Winners

  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 05:16 PM
steven114 steven114 is offline
Programming Wizard and Team Captain
AKA: Steven Schlansker
FRC #0114 (Eaglestrike)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Altos, CA
Posts: 335
steven114 is a jewel in the roughsteven114 is a jewel in the roughsteven114 is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to steven114
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

FIRST does not specify when the compressor must be on or off - you could run it for all 2 minutes as far as they care. It's all about saving the motor in it and the battery. So, yes that would be acceptable.
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 05:17 PM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,841
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

He wants to know if he can manually turn the compressor on, or can the compressor only come on when the pressure sensor senses low pressure.

Based on my reading of the rules, my first inclination would be to say no based on <R54>. However, why would FIRST give you a second pressure sensor if it couldn't be used for making decisions about the compressor? You should ask in the FIRST Q/A.
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 05:28 PM
dez250 dez250 is offline
54... What a good number!
no team
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Rookie Year: 2000
Location: Upstate NY / Manchester, NH
Posts: 1,692
dez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond reputedez250 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to dez250
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Ross
He wants to know if he can manually turn the compressor on, or can the compressor only come on when the pressure sensor senses low pressure.

Based on my reading of the rules, my first inclination would be to say no based on <R54>. However, why would FIRST give you a second pressure sensor if it couldn't be used for making decisions about the compressor? You should ask in the FIRST Q/A.
The pressure switch is made to turn on at any pressure below 90psi and off at 120psi. You still need to program it and i think that there is a way to code the switch to have a second state in which if a secondary switch (controlled by you) is on, the pump goes on and shuts off still @ 120psi.
__________________
#5

-Michael Dessingue
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 05:34 PM
pras870's Avatar
pras870 pras870 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Mike
#0870 (Team Rice)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southold, NY
Posts: 214
pras870 can only hope to improve
Send a message via AIM to pras870
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

That's what I thought he meant when he asked his question. I just find it odd that someone would want to manually turn a compressor on when the pressure switch does it for you. Experience has shown my team, that having the compressor constantly running will dramatically drain the battery, which is why FIRST supplies the pressure switch. Just make sure that there is no leaks so the compressor isn't on all the time.

P.S.- It's also a good idea to charge your system before a match. Have an extra battery for turning the compressor on to charge up your system, so the compressor doesn't run during autonomous
__________________
'02 SBPLI Rookie of the Year
'03 UTC Johnson & Johnson Award Winners
'03 SBPLI Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers Entrepreneurship Award Winners
'03 SBPLI Regional Winners
'04 SBPLI Xerox Creativity Award Winners

  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 05:44 PM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,841
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

If you have a 2" bore, 24" stroke piston, you are going to want to make sure there is more then 90 PSI in the system before you fire. That is why you would want to run the pump before the sensor normally would.

There are many ways you "could" program the system, but my question is whether <R54> allows that.
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 06:09 PM
sanddrag sanddrag is offline
back to school ;-)
FRC #0696 (Circuit Breakers)
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 7,847
sanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond reputesanddrag has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

I would also like to know if it is acceptable to manually turn the compressor off.
__________________
Teacher/Engineer/Machinist - Team 696 Circuit Breakers, 2011 - Present
Mentor/Engineer/Machinist, Team 968 RAWC, 2007-2010
Technical Mentor, Team 696 Circuit Breakers, 2005-2007
Student Mechanical Leader and Driver, Team 696 Circuit Breakers, 2002-2004

Support Team 696 on DonorsChoose!
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 08:00 PM
Ryan Cumings's Avatar
Ryan Cumings Ryan Cumings is offline
Programmer and University Rejected
#0134 (Team Discovery)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Rookie Year: 2000
Location: Pembroke, NH
Posts: 65
Ryan Cumings is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Ryan Cumings
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

I entirely missed <R54>
The wording makes it a bit tricky from a strictly legeal stand point. However with the whole spirit of the game, I think the rule is trying to make sure that you do not hook the pressure sensor directly inline with the compressor.

The pneumatics manual hints at this under the section they designate for the pressure switch. It also says that there is no control in the default program to control the relay so I suppose it goes to say that you can control the relay however you want, just as long as it is done entirely in the code.
__________________
Suddenly being rejected from college feels right during the build season. Now I am a mentor.
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 08:25 PM
Rickertsen2 Rickertsen2 is offline
Umm Errr...
None #1139 (Chamblee Gear Grinders)
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: ATL
Posts: 1,422
Rickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant futureRickertsen2 has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to Rickertsen2 Send a message via Yahoo to Rickertsen2
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

I would think it would be legal. I don'st see any rules against it. I saw a team that did it alst year. There anrn't ant rules against it. and overpressure isn't an issue bc there is a mechanical overpressure valve o n the compressor.
__________________
1139 Alumni
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-16-2004, 08:39 PM
KevinB's Avatar
KevinB KevinB is offline
Registered User
AKA: Alum
no team
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: AL
Posts: 188
KevinB will become famous soon enoughKevinB will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to KevinB
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

Yeah I don't think they care when or how the compressor turns on or off as long as the pressure in the system never exceeds 120PSI.

They give you an analog pressure sensor for this reason -- to customize the control of the pump.
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-17-2004, 03:44 PM
dlavery's Avatar
dlavery dlavery is offline
Curmudgeon
FRC #0116 (Epsilon Delta)
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 3,168
dlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

You can insert a manual override option to turn the compressor "Off" whenever you want to. You can insert a manual override option to turn the compressor "On" whenever you want to, as long as it does not disable the automatic shut-off at 120psi. E.g. you can turn the compressor "On" at any time, through manual or autonomous means, but the existing software that turns the compressor "Off" at 120psi must always take priority over all other functions.

-dvae
__________________
"I know what you're thinking, punk," hissed Wordy Harry to his new editor, "you're thinking, 'Did he use six superfluous adjectives or only five?' - and to tell the truth, I forgot myself in all this excitement; but being as this is English, the most powerful language in the world, whose subtle nuances will blow your head clean off, you've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel loquacious?' - well do you, punk?"
- Stuart Vasepuru, 2006 Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest



My OTHER CAR is still on Mars!!!
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-17-2004, 04:22 PM
steven114 steven114 is offline
Programming Wizard and Team Captain
AKA: Steven Schlansker
FRC #0114 (Eaglestrike)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Altos, CA
Posts: 335
steven114 is a jewel in the roughsteven114 is a jewel in the roughsteven114 is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to steven114
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlavery
but the existing software that turns the compressor "Off" at 120psi must always take priority over all other functions.

-dvae
The 120 psi is a hardware limit - the compressor has a relief valve. Keeping it running will not charge it above 120psi unless you modify the compressor.
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-17-2004, 10:29 PM
dlavery's Avatar
dlavery dlavery is offline
Curmudgeon
FRC #0116 (Epsilon Delta)
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 3,168
dlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond reputedlavery has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

Quote:
Originally Posted by steven114
The 120 psi is a hardware limit - the compressor has a relief valve. Keeping it running will not charge it above 120psi unless you modify the compressor.
And the existing software code provides a redundant safety feature that provides two-fault tolerance. In the event that the relief valve should fail (not an unheard-of occurrence), the software limits the pressure output of the compressor to a safe level well below the burst pressure ratings of any of the pneumatic components provided in the FIRST kit. For that reason, the existing software that turns the compressor "Off" at 120psi must always take priority over all other functions.

(and yes, it also works the other way around - the relief valve acts as a backup for the software, in case you accidentally do something to mess with the software-commanded shut off)

-dave
__________________
"I know what you're thinking, punk," hissed Wordy Harry to his new editor, "you're thinking, 'Did he use six superfluous adjectives or only five?' - and to tell the truth, I forgot myself in all this excitement; but being as this is English, the most powerful language in the world, whose subtle nuances will blow your head clean off, you've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel loquacious?' - well do you, punk?"
- Stuart Vasepuru, 2006 Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest



My OTHER CAR is still on Mars!!!
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-17-2004, 11:59 PM
steven114 steven114 is offline
Programming Wizard and Team Captain
AKA: Steven Schlansker
FRC #0114 (Eaglestrike)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Altos, CA
Posts: 335
steven114 is a jewel in the roughsteven114 is a jewel in the roughsteven114 is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to steven114
Re: Manual override of compressor software control

I never saw any such control thing in the code - where is it? And doesn't this require that the compressor and switch be wired up in a very specific way? I fail to see how this works...
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autonomous to Manual control? Lint_Ninja Programming 5 02-16-2004 08:48 PM
What do you wish you knew about the new control system? Joe Ross Control System 2 01-09-2004 08:47 PM
Need a FIRST Robotics control system kershawrobotics General Forum 3 07-07-2003 08:49 AM
more control options smokescreen Technical Discussion 17 03-05-2002 02:41 PM
goals: how much control? Pat Sarmiento Rules/Strategy 2 01-18-2002 06:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi