OCCRA
Go to Post And we had to walk both ways to the venue from our hotel! Uphill! Barefoot over broken glass! - IMDWalrus [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Motors
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2002, 09:16 AM
aka Scott White aka Scott White is offline
Registered User
#0555 (Montclair Mounties)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montclair, NJ
Posts: 35
aka Scott White is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Major problem with chipphua motors

We are having a major problem with our chipphua motors. When we try to drive the robot, if you go any faster than just barely moving, the speed controllers controlling the motors begin randomly turning on and off. This happens with even greater frequency when we try to run the motors in opposite directions to turn. We had the same problem last year, due to a short so we checked every single connection on the robot, replaced the speed controllers, and even the control board. Then we thought that the problem could be due to not enough reduction on the motor, since we used the reduction from the motor gear and the gear that came in the kit, and then atached that gear to a shaft driving a 23 tooth sprocket connected by chain to another 23 tooth sproket, which drove the 4 inch diameter pulley for our 2 inch wide treads. We thought this might have been the cause since the robot ran fine when it was up on blocks, no trouble turning or going full speed. To test this out, we removed our top section containing the bulk of our weight, about 90 pounds. With the 40 pound base, the motors still gave us touble when driving the robot, but worked fine when all load was removed from the tread drive. Has anyone else had a similiar problem or have a solution?
__________________
The 3 magic ingredients are
Trust, Love, & Magic.

"We brake for broken speed controllers"

I love the the smell of melting speed controllers in the morning...

Last edited by aka Scott White : 02-15-2002 at 09:23 AM.
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2002, 10:16 AM
Unsung FIRST Hero
Nate Smith Nate Smith is offline
FRC Key Volunteer Trainer
AKA: CrazyNate
no team
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1998
Location: Old Town, Maine
Posts: 1,029
Nate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to Nate Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Nate Smith
"Randomly turning on and off" sounds like breakers tripping(listen closely to the machine, you can hear them click)...if that's the case, double-check your side load on the motor as well as for any flexing of your gearbox/drivetrain when it's sitting on the ground. A system that runs fine up on blocks may flex when weight is put on it, causing binding and other problems.
__________________
Nate Smith
nsmith@smythsoft.com
12 seasons, 4 teams, and more time logged behind the scorekeeper's table than I care to remember...
returning for 2011? only time will tell...
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2002, 09:50 PM
Joseph F Joseph F is offline
Registered User
#0506 (Steel Friars)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 59
Joseph F is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Joseph F
We had a problem where our drive would stop on the ground and run fine on the table. It turned out that the set screws were unscrewing themselves so that the friction between the floor and the wheels was enough to cause the coupling to release the shaft from the motor and allow it to spin seperately. When up on a box or the table there was no friction (or significantly less at least) so that the set screws were still biting enough to turn the wheels. We also have had trouble due to loose chains and misaligned or tilted sprokets. If none of that works try changing the pwm cables, they may be bad or very loose.
__________________
One Team, One Bot, One Fleet of Ambulances!
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-17-2002, 10:01 AM
Mike Norton's Avatar
Mike Norton Mike Norton is offline
Registered User
FRC #0061
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Rookie Year: 1995
Location: Upton, MA
Posts: 465
Mike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to all
You guys are using the same belts we our using. Nice Breco Flexs


You guy are very under power for those tracks. you will blow those breakers every time.

Our tracks are 28 in from center to center. and 2 in wide. We put 220 lbs on top of robot and can spin very easly. or pull.

We have had 8 year on these type of track and now if you have to much traction for your motors you will never get out of the blocks.

try 4 motors with those tracks and you will not have a problem. plus there are other thing you have to do to your tracks to make them work.
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2002, 10:03 PM
Kit Gerhart's Avatar
Kit Gerhart Kit Gerhart is offline
Mentor, coach, whatever--
FRC #0233 ("The Pink Team")
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Cape Canaveral, FL USA
Posts: 549
Kit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond reputeKit Gerhart has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Kit Gerhart
Re: Major problem with chipphua motors

Quote:
Originally posted by aka Scott White
We are having a major problem with our chipphua motors. When we try to drive the robot, if you go any faster than just barely moving, the speed controllers controlling the motors begin randomly turning on and off.
It sounds like the 30A breakers are tripping, meaning that either you are geared too "tall" or there is too much friction in your drive train. If you can do so easily, you might try gearing lower and see how things work.
__________________
Team 45, TechnoKats, 1996-2002
Team 1062, The Storm, 2003
Team 233, "The Pink Team," 2004-present
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2002, 08:24 AM
junkyarddawg junkyarddawg is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 36
junkyarddawg is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Finding the bind.

This is our third year using tracks. Remove the chain from both motors with the robot on blocks. Spin the tracks by hand, they should move real easy. If that passes the test, set the machine on the floor with full weight and push the bot against the friction in the tracks. If this passes muster, then the problem is located in your gear reduction or motor mount. Use a DC ammeter to check current when the robot is on the blocks, that will tell you alot about excess friction or binding. Our bot for 2001 used two bosch motors and two FP motors, one of each directly driving the track (two inch timing belt with 3" pulleys). We found that you could still drive the bot even with 2 dead FP motors still coupled to the tracks. That is a lot of extra load. The bosch motors were in low gear with a 1 to 1 ratio to the 3" pulleys, roughly 5fps with no load. If you are geared for real high speed, that could be your problem as well. Speed is good, but not if you can't do anything when you get there.
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2002, 08:34 AM
Mike Norton's Avatar
Mike Norton Mike Norton is offline
Registered User
FRC #0061
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Rookie Year: 1995
Location: Upton, MA
Posts: 465
Mike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to allMike Norton is a name known to all
http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/pi...rrow=4&trows=3

This show how we set up the two motors for our track drive and

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/pi...rrow=4&trows=3


this is the track drive. We been doing this for 8 years.

you might have everything to tight. loosen up the tracks.

Quote:
Spin the tracks by hand, they should move real easy.
you should be able to do this.

the tracks if pushed on the floor should glide without the motors on them.
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2002, 05:29 PM
jonnywalk jonnywalk is offline
Registered User
#0825
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pulaski
Posts: 12
jonnywalk is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to jonnywalk
Stalling the motors

Okay man you are binding up the drive system my guess is that you are using the reduction gears in the kit pressed onto the motor output shaft. Those gears and any gears are made to have some play in the teeth when they mesh so lighen up the pressure on them a little bit. This is just a guess and it happened to us when i first built the transmission but I fixed it easily. If this is not it then feel free to call me and I will try to figure it out step by step. Number is 276-686-5142 ask for Jonathan
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2002, 08:48 PM
mnkysp6353's Avatar
mnkysp6353 mnkysp6353 is offline
Post Junkie
no team (Bagel Bytes)
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Where men are men and cows are afraid
Posts: 209
mnkysp6353 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to mnkysp6353
We had almost the exact same problem this weekend. Glen from team 60 offered a suggestion that this years battery charger wasnt giving the batterys enough amps. So he switched one of his teams batterys charged with last years charger and it work perfectly.

He also told us that us leaving our batterys on the shelf for 8 months uncharged ruined them and we need to renitrate them. I have no idea what that means if anyone could help out that would be great.
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-13-2002, 02:58 PM
Perseus's Avatar
Perseus Perseus is offline
Takin' a Break from FIRST
no team
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 204
Perseus is an unknown quantity at this point
Low Battery

Also check to see if you get a low battery light. We had a problem like that at the VCU regional and ended up taking of the chiaphus(and it worked.) Otherwise i agree with Nate, that seems to be the other most logical occurence
__________________
The Few
The Proud
The Zoroastrians
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-13-2002, 04:49 PM
Unsung FIRST Hero
Greg Needel Greg Needel is offline
Lets do this....
FRC #2848 (All-sparks)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,887
Greg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Needel has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Greg Needel Send a message via Skype™ to Greg Needel
exact same problem

it really doesn;t matter at this point but our team is having the exact same problem. a solution that was thought of is something that I have a question of legality. is it leagal to use 2 speed controlers for each motor that way it really doesn;t change the way it drives but will give you double the aprage. it was an intersting thought that we had after regionals and since we arn;t going to nationals it doesn;t matter that much. we were just curious if this is leagl and/or will it work
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-13-2002, 07:51 PM
Unsung FIRST Hero
Nate Smith Nate Smith is offline
FRC Key Volunteer Trainer
AKA: CrazyNate
no team
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1998
Location: Old Town, Maine
Posts: 1,029
Nate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to beholdNate Smith is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to Nate Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Nate Smith
Re: exact same problem

Quote:
Originally posted by tarbell
it really doesn;t matter at this point but our team is having the exact same problem. a solution that was thought of is something that I have a question of legality. is it leagal to use 2 speed controlers for each motor that way it really doesn;t change the way it drives but will give you double the aprage. it was an intersting thought that we had after regionals and since we arn;t going to nationals it doesn;t matter that much. we were just curious if this is leagl and/or will it work
Is it legal? No

Will it work? NO...the internal electronics of the speed controller cause a pulsing power stream to be sent to the robot(i.e., not 6v, but 12v half the time - it's been discussed here before)...there is no way for this power pulse to be syncronized between the two speed controllers, so catastrophic failure of one or both controllers, and perhaps the motor, will result if you try this...
__________________
Nate Smith
nsmith@smythsoft.com
12 seasons, 4 teams, and more time logged behind the scorekeeper's table than I care to remember...
returning for 2011? only time will tell...
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-14-2002, 05:22 AM
junkyarddawg junkyarddawg is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 36
junkyarddawg is an unknown quantity at this point
Breakers

Once you've tripped those 30 amp. thermal devices a number of times, they seem to trip at lower and lower currents. This comes from past experience with the devices. I think the continuous heating lowers the spring rate that holds them in the closed position. We keep a good supply on hand and throw them away after a series of trips and we never reuse last years.

Just a thought!

Tim Gates
Team #288
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-14-2002, 11:17 AM
Leo M Leo M is offline
Registered User
#0384 (Tucker Tigers)
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 70
Leo M is just really niceLeo M is just really niceLeo M is just really niceLeo M is just really niceLeo M is just really nice
I agree with the Dawg - once the 30 amp breakers start tripping, they do it more and more frequently. I have seen this for three years now. I don't know what goes on inside to make them do this, but it sounds like you need to get a big supply of them.
__________________
Leo M.
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-17-2002, 06:16 PM
Mark Hamilton's Avatar
Mark Hamilton Mark Hamilton is offline
Belphegor made me do it.
#0108 (SigmaC@t)
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 207
Mark Hamilton will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to Mark Hamilton Send a message via AIM to Mark Hamilton
This sounds like a breaker problem if I ever heard one. Something is causing your motors to stall, causing them to draw far mroe current then normal. Check for side load on the shaft coming out of the motor, that causes stalls very easily. You may just not be geared enough for the tracks you are using. Also, as far as the breakers go, any breaker is more likely to trip when they are "hot". A breaker that has tripped or repeatedly been pushed to near tripping without being given cool down time will trip much easier.
__________________
Retired member of Team 108
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PWM and burning out motors patrickrd Technical Discussion 7 06-19-2003 02:30 PM
Looking for practice motors & extra tape drive parts? archiver 2000 1 06-23-2002 09:54 PM
Suppose you want seat motors... archiver 2000 0 06-23-2002 09:50 PM
"Motors and Drive train edition" of Fresh From the Forum Ken Leung CD Forum Support 6 01-29-2002 11:32 AM
Drill Motors TF8 Motors 19 12-12-2001 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi