Go to Post I think the only way I'd die from posting on CD is from my wife killing me. - Koko Ed [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > CAD
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

#1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-07-2008, 08:51 PM
SF Robotics CAD Designer
FRC #2367
Team Role: Student

Rookie Year: 2008
sfcaddesigner is an unknown quantity at this point
Question What is the difference Between Autodesk Inventor and 3ds Max?

What is the difference between Autodesk Inventor Pro 2008 and 3ds Max 2008? Also, what is combustion 2008 for? Do I even need 3ds Max and Combustion if I have Autodesk Inventor Pro? If I do, what do I use each software for? I'm a newbie at all this stuff and this is our first year for our robotics team. I'm a freshmen in high school and have only been working with inventor for about a week, having all the basics like constraints, dimensions, extruding, holes, and sketches. No one in my school, including our coach, knows how to use any of these softwares, so I've been teaching myself. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-07-2008, 10:04 PM
An Info Sys Student at Drexel
AKA: Keith Hobin
FRC #0555 (Montclair Robotics)
Team Role: Alumni

Rookie Year: 2005
kjhobin is a jewel in the roughkjhobin is a jewel in the roughkjhobin is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to kjhobin Send a message via Skype™ to kjhobin
Smile Re: What is the difference Between Autodesk Inventor and 3ds Max?

Inventor is a 3D CAD (Computer Aided Design) Software good for modeling parts for your robot.

3D Studio Max (3DS MAX) is 3D Animation software, like what you would use to make a animated movie (Think Toy Story).

2008 is just what they used as the version number, like Microsoft Office 2007

You can get help and tutorials for both these programs at http://firstbase.autodesk.com