OCCRA
Go to Post The urge to compete tends to drive teams to hold the ideas close during the competition season, but the urge to contribute means they get publicized afterwards. - Alan Anderson [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Competition > Team Organization
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

#1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-16-2008, 04:35 PM
AKA: C. Molloseau
FRC #2374 (Crusader Bots)
Team Role: Mentor

Rookie Year: 2008
Mama Roboto is an unknown quantity at this point
Practice Locations

I am new to writing into Chief Delphi although I have been tracking many posts as this is our team's rookie season (Team 2374). I am in the process of putting together a proposal to our school for next year's budget. We have 2 major issues:

1) Fundraising: we are a private Jesuit high school that relies heavily on fundraising to support our school in general. The administration at our school (I am a physics teacher) is concerned that if we fundraise specifically for the robotics team that it might take away from other fundraising efforts (for example, financial aid) or other programs (like sports).

2) Practice Location: this year, we used our physics classroom as well as a aircraft machine shop to construct our robot. Unfortunately, the classroom does not offer the space, has security issues, and we spend a good portion of our time setting up/cleaning up. The machine shop we used was about 45 minutes away, limiting many team members from getting down there.

So, I was wondering if any of you have advice about fundraising (specifically as a private school) and a practice location (how many of you practice offsite? Do you rent a location?).

I am putting together a proposal for our school, and I have been told that in order for the robotics program to continue it needs to be a sustainable, viable program.

Your advice is greatly appreciated!
  #2   Spotlight this post!