Go to Post We do FRC to inspire and to be inspired. - Basel A [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Control System > FRC Control System
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 11:29 AM
Vince's Avatar
Vince Vince is offline
Registered User
FRC #0236 (Techno Ticks)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1994
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 161
Vince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond repute
LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Looking for some debugging help here...

I am trying to use a working Control System on a new computer that has been loaded with the LabVIEW software. Following the instructions on p. 2 of the "Using the FRC Framework" manual, I get error message 1055 when creating a new project.







I have the system set up as illustrated on p. 6 of Chapter 5 in the 2009 FRC Control System Manual.

Any suggestions on what I'm doing wrong? Tanks - Vince
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 11:41 AM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,824
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

You need to install the update over the LabVIEW version included in the kit. See http://decibel.ni.com/content/thread/1681
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 12:08 PM
Vince's Avatar
Vince Vince is offline
Registered User
FRC #0236 (Techno Ticks)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1994
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 161
Vince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Thanks Joe - I had installed the update when I got the error message. Any other suggestions?

Last edited by Vince : 11-28-2008 at 01:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 01:47 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,914
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince View Post
Thanks Joe - I had installed the update when I got the error message. Any other suggestions?
The important portion of his message was to install the update OVER the DVD version of LV. One of the common issues we've seen is to install the update over the trial version or other version of LV without having all of the appropriate toolkits installed. Since your image doesn't show the right icon for the RT target, it doesn't appear that RT has been installed.

Unfortunately, the updater was built to install over almost any LV 8.5, but if you don't have the RIO driver, RT, and other elements, you will get errors especially when running the wizard.

To reiterate the other message, install the DVD version, then do the update.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 03:18 PM
billbo911's Avatar
billbo911 billbo911 is offline
Registered User
AKA: That's "Mr. Bill"
FRC #2073 (EagleForce)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Elk Grove, Ca.
Posts: 1,830
billbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond reputebillbo911 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg McKaskle View Post
The important portion of his message was to install the update OVER the DVD version of LV. One of the common issues we've seen is to install the update over the trial version or other version of LV without having all of the appropriate toolkits installed. Since your image doesn't show the right icon for the RT target, it doesn't appear that RT has been installed.

Unfortunately, the updater was built to install over almost any LV 8.5, but if you don't have the RIO driver, RT, and other elements, you will get errors especially when running the wizard.

To reiterate the other message, install the DVD version, then do the update.

Greg McKaskle

We were provided with several copies of LabVIEW 8.5 Student edition by a local NI Sales Engineer. We also have several students who used the "free" download version of 8.5.1. These two are very similar, but not identical.
Would it be safe to say that uninstalling all previous versions of LV from a system before installing the version from the DVD would be the safest way to go?
That way you know exactly what you are working with.
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish!

CalGames 2009 Semi Finalist, CalGames 2009 Autonomous Champion Award winner
Sacramento 2010 Creativity in Design winner, Sacramento 2010 Quarter finalist, 2010 Madtown Creative Design Award
2011 Sacramento Finalist, 2011 Madtown Engineering Inspiration Award
2012 Sacramento Semi-Finals, 2012 Sacramento Innovation in Control Award, 2012 SVR Judges Award.
2012 CalGames Autonomous Challenge Award winner ($$$).
2013 Pow3rhou53 Pwnage Gracious Professionalism Award.
2014 2X Rockwell Automation: Innovation in Control Award (CVR and SAC). Curie Division, Gracious Professionalism Award.

Last edited by billbo911 : 11-28-2008 at 06:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 06:21 PM
Vince's Avatar
Vince Vince is offline
Registered User
FRC #0236 (Techno Ticks)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1994
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 161
Vince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Still a bit confused here... I did install LabVIEW via the DVD, and then installed the updates. Based on your messages, I even re-downloaded the updates and tried to re-install them, with the resulting message that all is updated. Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 06:44 PM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,824
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Can you post a screenshot of the NI License Manager?
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 07:01 PM
Vince's Avatar
Vince Vince is offline
Registered User
FRC #0236 (Techno Ticks)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1994
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 161
Vince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?



Hope this helps... Vince
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 07:18 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,914
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Quote:
Originally Posted by billbo911 View Post
Would it be safe to say that uninstalling all previous versions of LV from a system before installing the version from the DVD would be the safest way to go?
That is what I'd do. The normal LV package doesn't include RT and other important bits.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 07:23 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,914
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince View Post
Still a bit confused here... I did install LabVIEW via the DVD, and then installed the updates. Based on your messages, I even re-downloaded the updates and tried to re-install them, with the resulting message that all is updated. Any other suggestions?
Darn. This sounded very much like the other problem. Sorry to have doubted you. Did your machine originally have any LV or other NI SW installed?

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-28-2008, 07:45 PM
Vince's Avatar
Vince Vince is offline
Registered User
FRC #0236 (Techno Ticks)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1994
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 161
Vince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

I did have LabVIEW8.2 on another hard-disk on the computer.
I am now in the process of removing them both and starting the DVD install program from scratch..... More to follow - Vince
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-29-2008, 08:32 AM
Vince's Avatar
Vince Vince is offline
Registered User
FRC #0236 (Techno Ticks)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1994
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 161
Vince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond reputeVince has a reputation beyond repute
Re: LabVIEW Error Code 1055?

Problem found and solved!

Ends up an old version of LabVIEW8.2 was lurking on another hard-drive. I ended up deleting all versions of LabVIEW and reinstalling from the DVD followed by the update. All is fine now.

Thanks to the trouble-shooters - Vince
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FTC]: Error on downloading sample codes in Labview TeamCaution FIRST Tech Challenge 4 12-02-2008 02:05 PM
Error in code light on, trouble finding error Tanis Programming 16 10-12-2007 08:59 PM
LABView Error TuaMater LabView and Data Acquisition 1 01-20-2006 01:58 AM
LabVIEW Com Port Error 354.FIRST LabView and Data Acquisition 4 01-18-2006 05:43 PM
Code error on RC after downloading "bells and whistles" version of Kevins camera code DanDon Programming 6 01-10-2006 05:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi