OCCRA
Go to Post I would argue that you are not overdosed if you don't know the correct name of this year's game - KarenH [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Electrical
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2009, 02:21 PM
Adrien's Avatar
Adrien Adrien is offline
Registered User
FRC #1414 (IHOT)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 13
Adrien is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Adrien
Screwing Encoder into Encoder Mount?

How are you guys mounting the encoder onto the Encoder Mount?

First of all, the screws that come with the encoders are thicker than the holes for them in the encoder mount. I suppose one could tap the holes in the encoder mount to screw in the screws, but we don't have a tapping tool that small.

Also, I guess you could drill out the holes in the encoder mount so the screws can fit in them, but then the screws aren't long enough to put a nut on the other side of the encoder mount. In which case one would need to get longer screws of the same thickness. I checked Home Depot, which didn't carry screws that thin, and Radio Shack, which didn't have screws at all...

So any hints?
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2009, 02:31 PM
Kyle Love's Avatar
Kyle Love Kyle Love is offline
Support STEM Education
FRC #3301 (Jay County Robotics)
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Portland, IN
Posts: 3,072
Kyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Screwing Encoder into Encoder Mount?

Go to this site and it tells you how to do it (scroll down the page a bit to find instructions). I just ran into a similar problem, and this actually does work after you try it a couple of times. Be VERY careful while doing this though so you do not damage the encoder board. It seems to me that the bracket hole to mount the encoder board to are a bit narrower then they should be, but if you thread the screw in a bit sideways into the mount then it will work, once again be careful!
__________________

Kyle Love
Teams I've been on:
Team 45 - The TechnoKats - Student/Leader/Driver 2004-2007
Team 1646 - Boiler Precision Guessworks - Mentor 2007-2011
Team 3301 - Jay County Robotics - Teacher 2011-Present

  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2009, 02:35 PM
ironbears ironbears is offline
Alex@854
AKA: Alex
FRC #0854 (Ironbears Team 854)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
ironbears is on a distinguished road
Re: Screwing Encoder into Encoder Mount?

does anyone have a problem converting the .stp file from andymark to the .dwg used by autodesk? how is it done
__________________
Iron Bears Team 854
Rookie Year 2002
2008 ON Xerox Creativity
2007 WAT Rockwell Automation Innovation in Control
2007 WAT Regional Finalist
2007 ON Motorola Quality
2007 ON Regional Finalist
2006 ON Motorola Quality
2005 ON RadioShack Innovation in Control Award
2005 WAT RadioShack Innovation in Control Award
2003 ON Delphi "Driving Tomorrow's Technology"
2005 The Championship Event (4/21/2005 - 4/23/2005)
2003 The Championship Event (4/10/2003 - 4/12/2003)
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2009, 05:14 PM
Kyle Love's Avatar
Kyle Love Kyle Love is offline
Support STEM Education
FRC #3301 (Jay County Robotics)
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Portland, IN
Posts: 3,072
Kyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond reputeKyle Love has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Screwing Encoder into Encoder Mount?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ironbears View Post
does anyone have a problem converting the .stp file from andymark to the .dwg used by autodesk? how is it done
Which file are you referring to (as in which part)?
__________________

Kyle Love
Teams I've been on:
Team 45 - The TechnoKats - Student/Leader/Driver 2004-2007
Team 1646 - Boiler Precision Guessworks - Mentor 2007-2011
Team 3301 - Jay County Robotics - Teacher 2011-Present

Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to mount rotary encoder Logan Williams Electrical 13 01-12-2009 07:00 PM
HELP US BANEBOTS 56mm Gearbox Mount Encoder bhenry677 Electrical 3 09-05-2008 12:47 PM
pic: Rotary Encoder Mount Madison Extra Discussion 8 03-10-2008 08:44 PM
Turning a gear-tooth sensor into a quadrature output encoder Jared Russell Programming 4 01-18-2006 09:19 PM
encoder.c Gary Bonner Programming 2 01-14-2005 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi