OCCRA
Go to Post Use checklists. If it's good enough for NASA, it's good enough for FIRST. - Rick TYler [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Control System > FRC Control System
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 02:05 PM
Bryscus's Avatar
Bryscus Bryscus is offline
EE, CpE
AKA: Bryce B.
FRC #0180 (SPAM)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 172
Bryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud of
Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

I'm not sure who to target with this question, but I was wondering if the DIO module is capable being upgraded to a higher sampling frequency next near. I noticed that this year it has a sampling rate of 153kHz (which seems to be just perfect for 8bit resolution control for the Vics, Jags, and whatever other PWM devices one might use). Is there any talk of increasing the sampling frequency, or is the FPGA stuck with hardware limitations? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 02:19 PM
Jared Russell's Avatar
Jared Russell Jared Russell is offline
I feel better now.
AKA: Jared341
FRC #0254 (The Cheesy Poofs)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,639
Jared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

For the Victors at least, there is no benefit in going to a higher pulse resolution. There are discrete digital steps used to control the output - the resolution of these are unchangeable.

For more information, see: http://www.ifirobotics.com/forum/vie...e12fb2 3c60f8

I can't speak about the Jaguar, though.
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 02:49 PM
Kevin Sevcik's Avatar
Kevin Sevcik Kevin Sevcik is offline
(Insert witty comment here)
FRC #0057 (The Leopards)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1998
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,960
Kevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Kevin Sevcik Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin Sevcik
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

The diligent coders at NI willing, the Jaguars won't even need PWM control next year, because we'll be using the CAN interface on them. And they'll be doing closed-loop position, velocity, and current control. With integral encoder and limit switches that you'll be able to get feedback from through the CAN bus. Assuming, of course, that the gods of the GDC and FIRST don't step in after kickoff with rules against using the CAN bus.....

Ahem. Anyways, the FPGA itself can support base clock rates up to 40 MHz, but actual loop rates depend on the code you're implementing. So only the NI gurus with the secret password know how much faster they could bump the loop rates.
__________________
The difficult we do today; the impossible we do tomorrow. Miracles by appointment only.

Lone Star Regional Troubleshooter
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 02:50 PM
Bryscus's Avatar
Bryscus Bryscus is offline
EE, CpE
AKA: Bryce B.
FRC #0180 (SPAM)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 172
Bryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud of
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

Very interesting. Does anyone know if the Jaguar has discete steps as well?
__________________
The opulence of the front office decor varies inversely with the fundamental solvency of the firm.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 02:54 PM
Bryscus's Avatar
Bryscus Bryscus is offline
EE, CpE
AKA: Bryce B.
FRC #0180 (SPAM)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 172
Bryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud of
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

Ok. Does the cRio even have a CAN interface? Or will it be part of another module? The only other interface I remember seeing is an I2C connection.
__________________
The opulence of the front office decor varies inversely with the fundamental solvency of the firm.
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 03:52 PM
Jared Russell's Avatar
Jared Russell Jared Russell is offline
I feel better now.
AKA: Jared341
FRC #0254 (The Cheesy Poofs)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,639
Jared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

Since CAN is just a network protocol, I see no reason why the cRIO FPGA couldn't be configured to support CAN through either the ethernet or serial ports.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 04:20 PM
Kevin Sevcik's Avatar
Kevin Sevcik Kevin Sevcik is offline
(Insert witty comment here)
FRC #0057 (The Leopards)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1998
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,960
Kevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Sevcik has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Kevin Sevcik Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin Sevcik
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

NI has two CAN modules available. I would assume that's what we would be given if FIRST decides to make the advanced abilities of the Jaguar open to us.
__________________
The difficult we do today; the impossible we do tomorrow. Miracles by appointment only.

Lone Star Regional Troubleshooter
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 04:39 PM
EricVanWyk EricVanWyk is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2000
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,596
EricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond reputeEricVanWyk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to EricVanWyk
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abwehr View Post
Since CAN is just a network protocol, I see no reason why the cRIO FPGA couldn't be configured to support CAN through either the ethernet or serial ports.
Your first statement is technically true, your second statement is not.

CAN in and of itself does not define the physical layer. However, it does define that the physical layer must have one dominant and one recessive state. Neither the serial port nor the ethernet port have this feature.

Additionally, "CAN" almost always implies a physical layer specified in ISO 11898-2. It is very possible to use other physical layers, but in conversation you would need to specifically mention you are doing something unusual.

In short, new hardware is required.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2009, 07:20 PM
Jared Russell's Avatar
Jared Russell Jared Russell is offline
I feel better now.
AKA: Jared341
FRC #0254 (The Cheesy Poofs)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,639
Jared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond reputeJared Russell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Increase Victor and Jaguar pulse resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricVanWyk View Post
Your first statement is technically true, your second statement is not.

CAN in and of itself does not define the physical layer. However, it does define that the physical layer must have one dominant and one recessive state. Neither the serial port nor the ethernet port have this feature.

Additionally, "CAN" almost always implies a physical layer specified in ISO 11898-2. It is very possible to use other physical layers, but in conversation you would need to specifically mention you are doing something unusual.

In short, new hardware is required.
Gotcha. Thanks for the clarification!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jaguar and wireless problems. Team_2547 FRC Control System 1 01-26-2009 03:54 PM
Can I control a victor/jaguar with an RC receiver Bruceb Electrical 3 12-30-2008 09:50 AM
Jaguar and Victor Flashing lights? programmr FRC Control System 24 12-17-2008 02:44 PM
pic: Jaguar next to Victor ajlapp Extra Discussion 26 08-10-2008 04:56 PM
[URGENT] NJ does Deanís Homework - Assembly and Senate to vote on Resolution! EChang General Forum 3 02-11-2007 09:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi