Go to Post Quality has nothing to do with desire – you can’t wish quality. Quality has nothing to do with time, or money, or the other guy’s attitude. Quality has everything to do with craftsmanship. - Jack Jones [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

Closed Thread
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-09-2009, 10:27 PM
AKA: Mr. Tucker, AKA Chip
FRC #1111 (Powerhawks)
Team Role: Mentor

Rookie Year: 2003
Chipawa is an unknown quantity at this point
Allocation of PWM and GPIO Channels

We have a lot of motors and limit switches on this year's robot. Is there any reason we cannot use (for example) PWM channels 1-8 and GPIO channels 1-8 from the same digital sidecar?

And if so, how do you address those channels in code?

We're programming in C++. I'm not a programmer, but I understand that you have to specify a slot and a channel number for each signal. I'm just not sure how you differentiate between a PWM channel and a GPIO channel. Any help would be appreciated.

2010 DC Engineering Innovation Award
2010 DC Spirit Award
2008 Chesapeake Finalist
2008 Chesapeake Rockwell Automation Innovation in Controls award
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-09-2009, 10:35 PM
AKA: Will
FRC #3005 (Robochargers)

Rookie Year: 2005
wt200999 will become famous soon enoughwt200999 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to wt200999
Re: Allocation of PWM and GPIO Channels

You can use all of the inputs without having to worry about conflicts. When you specify the slot and channel number (or if you are using the default slots just the channel number) the object you specify it for will tell whether it is a GPIO or a PWM.
FRC Team 3005 Mentor 2014

#3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-10-2009, 01:13 PM
FRC #1111 (Powerhawks)

Thanks for the reply. Glad there are no conflicts.

Quote: