OCCRA
Go to Post I would say FIRST is quite an addiction.............but one of the BEST addictions you'll ever have. - RoboMadi [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming > NI LabVIEW
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-24-2009, 01:07 PM
2560DawgDM's Avatar
2560DawgDM 2560DawgDM is offline
Registered User
FRC #2560
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Grandview, MO
Posts: 24
2560DawgDM has a spectacular aura about2560DawgDM has a spectacular aura about
How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

I've Finished with the programming but i cant figure out how to save it to the crio. Can someone help?
__________________
Here is some nerd code for you to decipher:MR SNKS.
MR KNOT
MR2
CMBDI?
L I B! MR SNKS
!
http://grandviewrobotics2560.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-24-2009, 01:37 PM
Alan Anderson's Avatar
Alan Anderson Alan Anderson is offline
Software Architect
FRC #0045 (TechnoKats)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 7,856
Alan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Alan Anderson
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

http://decibel.ni.com/content/servle..._Framework.pdf

Pages 13-14.
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-25-2009, 10:31 AM
chinckley chinckley is offline
Winner 2009 West Michigan District
FRC #1254 (Entropy)
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Lawrence, Michigan
Posts: 204
chinckley is a name known to allchinckley is a name known to allchinckley is a name known to allchinckley is a name known to allchinckley is a name known to allchinckley is a name known to all
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Anderson View Post
Ours will not deploy the new code we wrote. It will do the default code
if we reimage the cRIO.
Do we have to do it from a particular point.

We have followed page 13-14 over and over.

See the errors in this thread.

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/sh...759#post827759

Thanks for any and all help.
__________________
2009 West Michigan District Winner
Thanks to Team 216 and Team 1918

2009 Traverse City Semifinalist
Thanks to Team 1596 and Team 47
2009 Traverse City UL Safety Award Winners

Attending 2009: West Michigan, Traverse City, & State
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-26-2009, 04:39 PM
trimberger trimberger is offline
Registered User
FRC #1967
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 3
trimberger is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

Try an older computer. We are using an old computer with XP to do the downloading. At least one newer computer (also with XP) did not work and one Vista comptuer did not work either.

We had trouble with most of the flows on p13 and p14. We found that the one that worked for us was the numbered list at the top of p14. Follow it precisely. Don't skip any steps. You will need your driver station and cRio both powered-on. It will work through the wireless if you have the wireless setup done right. (IP address set to 10.xx.yy.n) where xxyy is your team number. n depends on the device (driver station, router for driver station, wireless adapter, cRio). See control system setup.)

Our cRio boots itself after download.

-T
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-07-2009, 08:43 AM
warpling warpling is offline
Registered User
AKA: Ryan McLeod
FRC #2984 (La Jolla High Vikings)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5
warpling is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to warpling
Lightbulb Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

We've had NUMEROUS issues with loading code, having every technical FIRST Official trying to help us at 8PM on practice night. Are you saying you can't overwrite old code? We dealt with that all day yesterday, trying to overwrite a faulty autonomous. The solution was finally to switch to the advanced framework odly enough. These things may sound dumb, but make sure you are saving, building the new Real Time Application build (Which should only include robot main in the source files). Then try to Run as Startup, ignoring the error's asking for you to disconnect, also you should be directly plugged into port 1 of the CRIO. If that doesn't work, after trying run as startup, try Deploy.
We've been dealing with LabView idiocy for the past 48 hours, these are some things that have seemed to work for us.
P.S. did you install LabView update 3? Is absolutely everything up to date?
Also if you get a watchdog error, flash your CRIO and reupload your code. Hope some of this helps…
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-07-2009, 09:37 AM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,953
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

It is great to post the solutions to your problem, but I'm not sure all of the things you are combining together are really related.

If you have watchdog problems, the problem is almost certainly with the code feeding the watchdog and you shouldn't need to reimage the cRIO. If all else fails and you aren't in need of the extra safety provided by the watchdog, you can delete it from the code.

As for the deployment, something that we saw twice in DC were deployments where all sorts of source files were listed in the source page. That wasn't the default build, and it can cause name collisions which will result in the wrong file being in memory at runtime. It took a long time to look at the Build Spec because we didn't think it would have changed. Anyway, I know better now, and if you are having lots of deploy problems, it is probably worthwhile looking at, and perhaps deleting and building another. As you mention, it should have only the Robot Main VI included, let the LV linker do the rest. That and the additional exclusions page with the checkbox for libraries are the only things you should have to concern yourself with if you are using one of the frameworks. Also, another way to cleanup a controller is to ftp to it and delete stuff. You really shouldn't need to reimage unless there is a patch or if things have been mangled by renegade file I/O or something really serious.

On the other hand, a reimage will not hurt, but is probably not necessary and will only make everything take longer.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-08-2009, 11:31 AM
Garii's Avatar
Garii Garii is offline
Registered Abuser
AKA: Jared Hankle
FRC #3044 (BE4)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 27
Garii is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Garii
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

we had so many issues with this, I would make changes to invert the motors and they wouldn't seem to deploy. After quite some frustration and alot of matches that didn't go so well, I opted to format the cRIO which did the trick if we did it often

eventually I got everything working normally again

there has been alot of trouble with watchdog since the update as well, and even the boolean feedback nodes had some trouble.

the only way I seemed to get it to work was to
format the cRIO > make edits > Build > Deploy > hope it works

anyways, hopefully this issue is resolved soon
__________________
-The Garii- aka Jared Hankle
Ballston Spa Labview Programmer
new team slogan-"Can I Get Some Linux With These Fries?"



Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-08-2009, 08:11 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is offline
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,953
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

You don't mention making that app the startup. As long as you've done this once, and use the same build name, I don't think you need to do it each time, but then again I usually do it, and I've never seen a cRIO not run what I told it. So my only suggestion would be to do a Set as Startup after your deploy and see if that is possibly the reason.

Greg McKaskle
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-10-2009, 11:40 AM
Garii's Avatar
Garii Garii is offline
Registered Abuser
AKA: Jared Hankle
FRC #3044 (BE4)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 27
Garii is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Garii
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg McKaskle View Post
You don't mention making that app the startup. As long as you've done this once, and use the same build name, I don't think you need to do it each time, but then again I usually do it, and I've never seen a cRIO not run what I told it. So my only suggestion would be to do a Set as Startup after your deploy and see if that is possibly the reason.

Greg McKaskle
When I tried it at FLR it wouldn't work no matter what I did, even deploying twice and such. I've done what you sugessted at least once, and running it in realtime gave me a "no code" on the driver station. Building and deploying is the only solution I could get working.

Any idea what the issue is? I even tried different Driver Stations And cRIOs
anyways the temp solution will work for now
__________________
-The Garii- aka Jared Hankle
Ballston Spa Labview Programmer
new team slogan-"Can I Get Some Linux With These Fries?"



Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-10-2009, 02:06 PM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,901
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garii View Post
When I tried it at FLR it wouldn't work no matter what I did, even deploying twice and such. I've done what you sugessted at least once, and running it in realtime gave me a "no code" on the driver station. Building and deploying is the only solution I could get working.
Did you have a breakpoint set, or highlight execution turned on?
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-11-2009, 12:49 PM
Garii's Avatar
Garii Garii is offline
Registered Abuser
AKA: Jared Hankle
FRC #3044 (BE4)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 27
Garii is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Garii
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Ross View Post
Did you have a breakpoint set, or highlight execution turned on?
Nope,
Just the norm
__________________
-The Garii- aka Jared Hankle
Ballston Spa Labview Programmer
new team slogan-"Can I Get Some Linux With These Fries?"



Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-03-2010, 06:16 PM
rokenboker rokenboker is offline
Registered User
FRC #1236
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Danville
Posts: 29
rokenboker is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

in the Project Explorer, there sould be 2 "Build Specifications", one ABOVE the RT CompactRIO Target (10.xx.yy.2), and one BELOW. click the plus to the left of the "Build Specifications" BELOW RT CompactRIO Target (10.xx.yy.2), the right click the Real-Time App (or whatever is there like that), then click "Build", wait for it to "Build", then when that's done, right click again and click "Run As Start-Up". that should "download" the code to the cRIO. during the download proccess, you may get a box with errors, just click "ok" or whatever it says to let you continue, then LABVIEW will ask if you want to reboot the robot, tell it "yes" and wait. goto the Driver account, and have fun.
Reply With Quote
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-03-2010, 07:58 PM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Itinerant Programmer
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,354
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How do you download a program and have it saved to the c-rio

This thread is a year old. I think they've figured it out by now...
__________________
Deduction is limited by knowledge, and knowledge is limited by preconceptions
358 Beta notes & results
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to download and keep a program on crio zackcool123 Programming 2 02-16-2009 05:22 PM
How to download program to robot? Hazmatt Programming 16 01-19-2008 09:14 PM
How to conect solenoids to the circuit board. and how to program it...??? arpitshah Pneumatics 6 01-13-2008 02:06 PM
Tonight I saved our robotics program. Viper37 General Forum 40 12-24-2006 01:22 PM
How do you program the Photoswitch nekng Programming 2 11-27-2006 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi