OCCRA
Go to Post You know you have bad field problems if both Dean and Woodie come out to try to fix them... :) - tim_reiher [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 10-19-2009, 06:12 PM
ferc ferc is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
ferc is an unknown quantity at this point
Labview programming help - Deploy mode not working

Hi there,

I have a programming doubt.I deployed the simple motor program VI and it worked perfect in run or Live debugging mode. If I try to deploy it from the project explorer window it deploys the program successfully but I'm not getting the motor to run.I tried changing the value of the constant in VI to 0.1 but still it doesn't turn the motor anyways.Can you help me out with this?

Thanks and regards,
Murthy
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 10-19-2009, 08:33 PM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Itinerant Programmer
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,346
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Labview programming help - Deploy mode not working

I'm assuming you really mean the "Motor Control Example"?

I hope you set a default speed on the Front Panel before you built & deployed it. Depending on the motor 0.1 could possibly be too slow to actually cause some motors to move.
It really isn't setup to run deployed, since it requires the front panel to actually control anything and the front panel doesn't get included as part of a deployment, and isn't active when the cRIO gets rebooted.

Did you make "Motor Control Example.vi" your Startup vi when you created your build specification?
You'll find that under the Build Specification that you created -> Properties -> Source Files.

I still like to use "Run as startup" too, rather than "Deploy", just in case the "Always run deployed code at startup" wasn't checked when the cRIO was last flashed.
__________________
Deduction is limited by knowledge, and knowledge is limited by preconceptions
358 Beta notes & results

Last edited by Mark McLeod : 10-20-2009 at 03:26 PM.
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 10-20-2009, 03:19 PM
ferc ferc is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 26
ferc is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Labview programming help - Deploy mode not working

Hello Mark!
Thanks for help.I actually didn't build the application in the first place.I'm using the simple motor control VI from Labview site.I tried building the stand-alone .exe and now when I deploy the application ,it works fine for me.

But still am quite unsure as of why the deploy from project explorer window didn't work?

Thanks,
Murthy
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 10-20-2009, 05:32 PM
Greg McKaskle Greg McKaskle is online now
Registered User
no team (Team NI)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,952
Greg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond reputeGreg McKaskle has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Labview programming help - Deploy mode not working

The deploy menu item in the project is deceiving. It is there really more as a test mechanism. What you really need to do is open the VI and push the run button on the top left of the toolbar.

Greg McKaskle
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solenoids not working (programming) Parthenon Pneumatics 1 02-16-2009 11:32 AM
Deploy not working.... Help please? domoarigato Programming 17 01-24-2009 04:13 PM
Help to Deploy a Program in Labview. Delian NI LabVIEW 7 12-10-2008 08:13 PM
Activation of LabView still not working apollorest National Instruments LabVIEW and Data Acquisition 4 11-22-2008 08:09 PM
frc_camera not working but labview does Issues Programming 7 01-18-2006 06:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi