OCCRA
Go to Post You mean to tell me there's a weight limit this year?!?!?!!? - Carlo [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 02:27 PM
camper365 camper365 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1599
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 24
camper365 is an unknown quantity at this point
Program C++ in NetBeans?

Is it possible to use NetBeans to program the robot in C++?
The issue is that I am running Linux and having problems getting WindRiver installed and would like to use NetBeans to write and test code. I have been able to successfully install NetBeans but not Wind River so I would like to use that.
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 02:43 PM
rogerlsmith's Avatar
rogerlsmith rogerlsmith is offline
Software Engineer
AKA: Roger Smith
FRC #3357 (COMETS)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 214
rogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to behold
Re: Program C++ in NetBeans?

As far as I know, Java is the only FRC supported language for development in NetBeans.
__________________
Roger Smith
Mentor - FRC Team 3357
COMETS - Creating Outstanding Minds, Embracing Technology & Science
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Share FIRST videos, photos and experiences at FIRSTObjective.org
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 03:02 PM
camper365 camper365 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1599
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 24
camper365 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Program C++ in NetBeans?

Is there an unsupported way to do it?
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 03:14 PM
rogerlsmith's Avatar
rogerlsmith rogerlsmith is offline
Software Engineer
AKA: Roger Smith
FRC #3357 (COMETS)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 214
rogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to beholdrogerlsmith is a splendid one to behold
Re: Program C++ in NetBeans?

Not sure, but doubtful. I think it'd be a bit of a risk to spend time right now investigating the feasibility of this. Maybe something you'd want to look into after this season is complete.
__________________
Roger Smith
Mentor - FRC Team 3357
COMETS - Creating Outstanding Minds, Embracing Technology & Science
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Share FIRST videos, photos and experiences at FIRSTObjective.org
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 03:16 PM
svenw svenw is offline
Registered User
FRC #3683
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 29
svenw is on a distinguished road
Re: Program C++ in NetBeans?

are you using linux to code at home? you could download a c++ ide for linux (code:blocks isnt too bad) and write code on that and then copy it to windriver on a windows computer whenever you want to download it to the crio.
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 03:17 PM
rkelly23 rkelly23 is offline
Registered User
FRC #2975
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central, LA
Posts: 5
rkelly23 will become famous soon enoughrkelly23 will become famous soon enough
Re: Program C++ in NetBeans?

NetBeans is a Java IDE only. Just download a C++ IDE
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 05:25 PM
davidthefat davidthefat is offline
Alumni
AKA: David Yoon
FRC #0589 (Falkons)
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: California
Posts: 792
davidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud of
Re: Program C++ in NetBeans?

All of you are wrong... netbeans is an all rounder, from php to java to c/c++...


http://netbeans.org/features/cpp/index.html
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-17-2010, 09:12 PM
StevenB StevenB is offline
is having FRC withdrawal symptoms.
AKA: Steven Bell
no team
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: May 2005
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Stanford, CA
Posts: 398
StevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond reputeStevenB has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Program C++ in NetBeans?

Quote:
Originally Posted by camper365 View Post
Is it possible to use NetBeans to program the robot in C++?
The issue is that I am running Linux and having problems getting WindRiver installed and would like to use NetBeans to write and test code. I have been able to successfully install NetBeans but not Wind River so I would like to use that.
No, you can't compile C++ code for the robot using NetBeans. Yes, you can write C++ code in NetBeans, and copy it into WindRiver Workbench. Personally, I would use Eclipse to write the C++ code at home, share it on a Subversion server, and do the rest of the work in WRW. WindRiver Workbench is based on Eclipse, so Eclipse will act and feel like WRW, which may make switching back and forth more comfortable.

Another option would be to download the WRW trial for Linux, and see if you can copy over the license files and FRC-specific stuff. I don't know how hard this would be, or if it's even legal. The WPILib guys would probably be interested if you got it to work, though.
__________________
Need a physics refresher? Want to know if that motor is big enough for your arm? A FIRST Encounter with Physics

2005-2007: Student | Team #1519, Mechanical Mayhem | Milford, NH
2008-2011: Mentor | Team #2359, RoboLobos | Edmond, OK
2014-??: Mentor | Looking for a team...
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NetBeans not talking to the cRio scottbot95 Java 21 02-07-2010 01:19 PM
Downloading code: Netbeans does not reset cRIO ellisk Java 8 01-31-2010 06:02 PM
Deploying code from the 2010 driver station - Netbeans joshholat Control System 5 01-23-2010 02:01 PM
Netbeans/Overall Java/Code help!!! a kenny03 Java 5 01-18-2010 09:32 PM
Help with NetBeans frcchile Java 4 01-13-2010 08:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi